logo

For some reason, a meat and potatoes meal has always been associated with the manliest of men. References of this nature are often made while watching ice hockey or football, “He’s a meat and potatoes kind of guy”.  Does that equate to the fuel necessary for hard work? If my memory serves me well,  I’ve never heard a sports analyst reference a female in the same manner.   It perplexes me. What does that mean for all the women pining away for a plate of beef and spuds? Does that make us “She-Men”? Is that not an appropriate pre-game meal for the ladies?  If I want to indulge in said meal, am I some how less feminine downing an entire plate of garlic mash potatoes and a T-bone steak or does it give me some type of advantage? Quite the quandary I must say. But today I’m putting my foot down on this antiquated way of thinking. What’s good for the goose is good for the gander.  This menu is dedicated to all my girlfriends that love them some meat and potatoes. Let me not forget onion rings and crusty bread too..

My guest this week….Louis Riddick

Louis and bennie 003

Louis is a retired NFL player and now is an analyst on ESPN. Yes, Louis requested the steak house menu. I guess he’s a meat and potatoes kind of guy. 

 Louis was definitely was at home on camera…Little preparation was necessary for him :) Louis and bennie 039

For my “Steak House Meal”  I did steak skewers, baked potato bar, onion rings, grilled bread, and some chocolate covered chips!!! Simply fabulous… 

Louis and bennie 018

Always soak your skewers before grilling :) I used a flank steak for my steak skewers. We made a quick marinade and grilled our skewers. 

Using my mandolin, I thinly sliced red vidalia onions for my golden, crispy, sweet onion rings 

Louis and bennie 042

Thin and ready to fry..
Louis and bennie 021

Dredge in flour, egg, and panko bread crumbs. Fry in 350 corn oil. Fry them up until golden brown

Louis and bennie 055

And then you hit them with a light sprinkle of salt…

Louis and bennie 062

On the counter are my potatoes washed, dried, pierced with a fork,  and brushed with olive oil. After that I wrap them in foil. Bake them at 350 degrees for about 1 hour. 

Louis and bennie 076

A baked potato bar is a fabulous idea to serve a large crowd…the topping ideas are endless. I had black beans, salsa, shredded cheese, bacon, cream cheese, sour cream, onions, queso dip, and corn. You could have broccoli, cauliflower, crunched up corn chips, chili!! A baked potato could be a meal all in itself. 

Louis and bennie 070

I spread them out to make a lovely display


Louis and bennie 069

Grilling bread is delicious. We brushed it with olive oil and rubbed on some garlic after it was grilled. 

Louis and bennie 098

Comfort food at it’s finest!!

Louis and bennie 072

Chocolate Dipped Chips are a staple in my home…

Melt semi-sweet chips in the microwave, dip in chips, shake off excess chocolate, place on wax paper lined baking sheet, and place in the refrigerate to solidify chocolate. 

Louis and bennie 090

 Who could resist this……..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Kz0DseDGi8

Remember…Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day?

