Jordan Sparks American Idol winner and daughter of  former NFL player Phillippi Sparks is a clairvoyant.  When she and Chris Brown sang the song “No Air”, she was predicting the suffocation we the NFL fans would feel in the summer of 2011.  I quote from the song, “Losing you is like living in a world with no air.” Normally, we rely on The Swami to make these predictions. Chris Berman may have moments of clarity and brilliance but I can’t imagine his words tug at our heart strings the way Jordan’s do.

On Christmas day 1979, I received my first NFL jersey #32 Franco Harris. As I opened the box that morning,  a light shone down from heaven. I love Franco Harris, I love The Pittsburgh Steelers, and I love football.   Many of my fondest memories in life revolve around this sport. Football has meant quality time with my friends and family. Time I treasure and would miss tremendously.

As the date for the start of training camp approaches  (what should be July 21st), I must take my anguish and focus on the positive. Creating new recipes or tweaking old ones for my football parties.  It will be my “Field Of Dreams”. If I cook it, they will come. Pouring my heart into my recipes is resuscitating my spirit. Here is my plan create new recipes, invite my friends over for a sampling party, then I will break out “Corn Hole”(my favorite tailgating game) and kick some butt. Maybe NFL players will take over my backyard like the recent “Field of Dreams” spoof I saw on ESPN. A fan can dream, right!!! Keep your chins up!! Checkout these great recipes, take care,  and remember…….”Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day?”

Great Tailgating Recipes!!!

Chorizo and Potato Empanadas

1 lb. Chorizo

3/4 c. frozen hash browns (cubes)

1 8 oz. package cream cheese, softened

1/2 c. sour cream

1 packet sazon

1 tsp Adobo All Purpose Seasoning

12-16 empanadas disks (found in the frozen food section usually a Goya product)

3/4 c. shredded “tex-mex” cheese

vegetable oil

1. Pre-heat oil to 350 degrees (or pre-heat oven to 350 degrees if you prefer to bake)

2. Remove Chorizo from the casings place in a large skillet. Use wooden spoon to break-up the

Chorizo to brown. As the Chorizo begins to cook, add hash browns. Cook until meat is browned.

3. In medium sized bowl, mix cream cheese, sour cream, packet of sazon, and adobo. Fold browned chorizo

and hash browns into the cream cheese mixture.

4. Place empanadas disk on floured surface and add a dollop of the mixture to the center of

the pastry, sprinkle shredded cheese on top of mixture. With finger wipe the edge of the

empanadas disk. Fold pastry into crescent shape and close pastry together with fork.

5. Fry empanadas at 350 degrees until golden brown. If you prefer a more healthy version,

bake at 350 degrees for 15-20. Brush with egg wash before baking.

6. Place fried empanadas on paper towel to drain oil.

Enjoy!!!! You will love these recipe 🙂

Cheese Steak Wontons

8 minute steaks (ex. steak’ums  )

1/2 c. finely chopped white onion

1/2 c. finely chopped green pepper

1/2 c. cheese whiz

20-25 wonton wrappers

vegetable oil for frying

1. Pre-heat oil to 350 degrees

2. Break up minute steaks into small pieces and brown in large skillet. Remove from skillet.

Using the same skillet, add a drizzle of olive oil and saute onions and peppers

over medium heat. Cook until translucent.

3.  In medium size bowl mixture together, minute steaks, onion/pepper mixture, and

cheese whiz.

4. Prepare wonton wrappers by keeping a moist paper towel over the stack( they will

become dry and difficult to work with). Using a teaspoon, place a dollop of the mixture

in the center of the wonton. Rub water on the edges and seal together.

Prepare all wontons. What you don’t use can be frozen up to two months

5. Fry at 350 degrees for 1 to 2 minutes (or until golden brown) Put on a paper towel to

drain oil.

 These are two of my favorite!!!! There are many more high fat, fried foods I can

share with you. However, I have many healthy ones as well!! Take Care

Remember…….Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day?

