As a magazine junkie, I subscribe to more than my share and acquire just as many from my friends. Typically, I peruse them two to three months after the fact.  With that being said, I finally read the article “True Grit” from the April edition of Women’s Health Magazine. This wasn’t about John Wayne with a box of Marlboro Reds or me tasting  grit while learning to hurdle on my high school’s cinder track. No,no, according to the research,  some individuals have the mental resolve to overcome obstacles which seem insurmountable to others. Apparently, “True Grit” has very little to do with who has the most brains, athleticism, or talent in any area. More like,  those who relentlessly forge through what Annie and Jay-Z call the “hard knocks” of life. The individuals that set a goal and never deviate wearing their blinders like a thorough breed. True grit was not my ability to get out of bed Monday, February 7, 2011 the day after the Steelers lost the Super Bowl, but the day I ran my first half marathon. Many of my favorite athletes display this quality. It is a culture and way of living for these individuals. When I think about Dara Torres, Lance Armstrong, Peyton Manning, Timbersport Competitors, and others,  I envision them wearing the blinders.

Another person who wears the blinders is my dear friend Leslie. She is not a professional athlete, but an extremely competitive person. For the last six months,  she has been training for the Tobay Triathlon which is hosted on Long Island. Leslie was prepping to swim, our girl Shelly on the bike, and I was slated for the run. Leslie loves to push herself and words can’t express her excitement that we would be competing together as a team. A new challenge for all.  However, my friend’s dream and vision have been washed away by Hurricane Irene. With this storm looming upon us,  there will be no way this event can take place. Even though I dodged a bullet when we realized the storm’s path (I’ve been blogging not running), my heart bled for my friend who had her heart set on the triathlon. Here’s a reality check,  you don’t always have to look at professional athletes  to be inspired by their grit. Sometimes it might just be close friends who always push themselves, motivating you to do the same.

Leslie and I recently in Philadelphia at the Fox and Hound!

This recipe is the “Truest Grits” I have in my hat.

Shrimp and Chorizo Grits

– 3 links of chorizo

– 11/2 cups pre-cooked shrimp

– 2 1/2 cups heavy cream (divided 1 3/4 c. and 3/4 c.)

– 3/4 cups hominy grits

-1 3/4 cups water

– 1 cup chicken stock (divided)

– 1 packet sazon season

– 1 tsp adobe (seasoning salt)

– 3/4 cups shredded pepper jack cheese

1. Brown chorizo links in 1/2 cup chicken stock in mediums skillet over medium heat

( after browning, set aside and cut into medallions after 5 minutes of cooling)

2. Preparing the grits

Bring 1 3/4 water, 1 3/4 heavy cream, sazon seasoning, and adobe to a boil.

At a boil,  whisk in 3/4 c. grits.

Cover, reduce heat, and simmer for 18-20 minutes.

3. Preparing shrimp

While grits are simmering, add 1/2 c. chicken stock to skillet used

to brown chorizo and deglaze over medium heat. Add 3/4 c. heavy cream and pepper jack cheese.

Whisk and melt cheese. Add chorizo and shrimp cook 3 to 4 minutes.

4. Serving up great grits!!

Serve grits in individual bowls with a ladle of the shrimp and chorizo mixture on top

Add oregano

As Hurricane Irene is reeking havoc on the east coast, I am praying for the safety of all!

Please take care, find your true grit, and give these grits a try, remember……..Who do  you want in your kitchen on game day!!

