Typically on New Years Eve, with the assistance of a beverage or two, my girlfriends and I try to craft out goals for the up and coming year. Because there is no such thing as a “designated editor” coupled with I often fixate on some ridiculous mess from the past….I’ve decided to be proactive on what needs tweaking to live my best life…as Oprah would say. Without the influence of a libation or my friends to help me replaying the worst moments of the last 12 months….I have forged ahead to pull together the “Who I Will Be” and the “What I Will Do” lists of 2012. I won’t bore you with the intimate details of this incredible transcript for my new and improved life, but each year does bring in a new reading list. My reading list usually consists of cookbooks, some type of feel good Chicken Soup For the Soul kind of reading and Chelsea Handler books. Clearly, I am not leading any book clubs at my house but I do have a book I am recommending for all to read….The book is” Win” written by my friend Lee Rubin ….. Lee was a captain on the Penn State football team during our time at PSU. Lee gave me an autographed copy this past September and I love this book!!! Lee’s words and thoughts are clear and poignant. For that reason, I called Lee and asked him to share some words to take us into 2012 as well as what motivated him to write his first book WIN!!!!

Many people make resolutions or commitments that either never start or don’t last through the first month of the year.  Here are three simple insights that will help you get started and/or keep your commitments to help you reach your goals and improve your life:

One step at a time.  Most people never take the first step of a big project because they can’t see how all the other subsequent steps are going to work out. They are intimidated or fearful of the obstacles and challenges that may present themselves along the journey. Stop looking at the whole journey. You can only take one step at a time anyway. So, as you’re getting started, muster up enough strength and courage to take just one step. And tomorrow, you will only need enough strength to take one more step. And so on…

Pushing Past the Plateau.   Despite the most disciplined and consistent efforts, we often hit plateaus on our way to reaching our goals.  This can be quite frustrating, and can even cause us to quit.  Whether we are talking about physical, emotional, or professional goals, the best way to break beyond the plateau and move forward is to change the routine. Confucius said, “When it is obvious that the goals cannot be reached, do not adjust the goals, adjust the action steps.”

Hire a Coach.  Do you tend to make the same exact resolutions year after year?  You may not need new commitments to succeed in the new year. You may just need ACCOUNTABILITY to help execute the old commitments.  Considering hiring a coach (personal trainer, life coach, financial advisor) to help you.  Often, just having someone to make you accountable can help you reach your goals.

Why did I write WIN?

WIN was written in response to an unexpected demand.  As I travelled the country, speaking at various events, program coordinators and members of the audience would ask me if I had a book.  I didn’t.  They enjoyed the concepts and ideas that I shared during my presentations, and wanted to take my thoughts home with them, so to speak.

So, I got busy taking the insights from my speeches and putting them in a written format.  The result is a collection of anecdotes and insights, along with some very powerful quotes, which was a lot of fun putting together.  The book is very easy to read, understand, and apply.  The feedback has been overwhelmingly positive.

Although I never considered myself a writer, I have now been bitten by the “book bug”.  I am working on a few ideas for future books.  Stay tuned…

Lee Rubin Speaks
(732) 685-3708
Ok…here is my personally signed book…please excuse my poorly manicured
finger. As you can see by Lee’s comments, he has been very supportive of all that I do… My respect for Lee is tremendous and I wish him the best of luck….
My Favorite Dish From 2011
Cheesy Shrimp and Chorizo Grits……Outstanding

– 3 links of chorizo

– 11/2 cups pre-cooked shrimp

– 2 1/2 cups heavy cream (divided 1 3/4 c. and 3/4 c.)

– 3/4 cups hominy grits

-1 3/4 cups water

– 1 cup chicken stock (divided)

– 1 packet sazon season

– 1 tsp adobe (seasoning salt)

– 3/4 cups shredded pepper jack cheese

1. Brown chorizo links in 1/2 cup chicken stock in mediums skillet over medium heat

( after browning, set aside and cut into medallions after 5 minutes of cooling)

2. Preparing the grits

Bring 1 3/4 water, 1 3/4 heavy cream, sazon seasoning, and adobe to a boil.

At a boil,  whisk in 3/4 c. grits.

Cover, reduce heat, and simmer for 18-20 minutes.

3. Preparing shrimp

While grits are simmering, add 1/2 c. chicken stock to skillet used

to brown chorizo and deglaze over medium heat. Add 3/4 c. heavy cream and pepper jack cheese.

Whisk and melt cheese. Add chorizo and shrimp cook 3 to 4 minutes.

4. Serving up great grits!!

Serve grits in individual bowls with a ladle of the shrimp and chorizo mixture on top

Add oregano

Have A Blessed New Year!!!!!!!!

Please take care, find your true grit, and give these grits a try, remember……..Who do  you want in your kitchen on game day!!

