As much as I love to cook, some days I wish a personal chef would emerge from my pantry…or maybe just a clean up person.. that’s the part I really don’t like. If I were a Baltimore Raven (most of you know I channel linebacker energy) that would be my life…breakfast, lunch, and dinner….The training table at the Baltimore Ravens Training Facility in Owings Mills, Maryland is absolutely incredible. Tenille Moore, Director of Food Services and Nick Goff, Head Chef for the Ravens are responsible for creating delicious, healthy, well balanced meals for the players, coaches and staff. A few weeks back, I had the opportunity to spend an afternoon with Tenille and Nick to tour the facility in Ownings Mills and get an idea of how meals are prepared for an NFL staff.

The Raven was rather festive….

When I sat down to talk with Tenille Moore to discuss her responsibilities and expectations as the Director of  Food Services for the Baltimore Ravens I found out….Tenille is DELIGHTFUL…the minute we met I knew we were kindred souls. Tenille is upbeat and extremely personable. Also, she showed no signs of fatigue as a mother of a 6 month old child. That in itself is impressive…please note my Dunkin Dounts coffee..they sponsor the Ravens…don’t be jealous

Even though Tenille is the Director of Food Services for the Baltimore Ravens and Nick is the Head Chef, they are actually employed by The Classic Catering People owned by Edward Dopkin. Tenille attended Johnson and Wales Culinary School in Providence, Rhode Island. Upon graduation, she was hired by The Classic Catering People and has been working for the Ravens since 2007. Nick Goff attended The Baltimore International Culinary School and has worked for the Ravens since the beautiful building opened in 2004. I seriously want to work at this place 🙂 I promise I won’t pack up a rental SUV in the middle of the night and move to the mid-west.

Jen Heasley and Pro Bowl Kicker Billy Cundiff

Part of Nick and Tenille’s job responsibilities entails dietary restrictions. Sue James is the Dietician and Nutritionist for the Baltimore Ravens. Nick and Tenille create the menus and consult with Sue. Sue has put in place a “stop light system” of course green means go..eat liberally, yellow slow it down, and red is  a “just say no”. This  makes the selections for the player easier to monitor based on their individual plans. Perhaps I should set up a “red light system” for myself or not… I am notorious for receiving tickets. Let’s just say I take some liberties

As Billy and I talked, he explained having played for many teams around the league, Baltimore’s training table is definitely one of the best..Apparently, the meals are great along with Nick and Tenille work with their personal requests. Wow, I wonder what happens during the off seasong…

Here is a portion of Jen Heasley’s Cooking With The Pros featuring Tenille, Nick, Billy Cundiff and his wife Nicole..

There is definitely a family atmosphere at the Ravens Facility (a functional one)..Everyone was very pleasant and easy going..like a day spa.

Exhibit A…(I also channel Perry Mason..obviously based on reruns)..Professional courtesy was the standard…the staff was wonderful

This is Toni Lekas..If you call the facility, Toni is taking the calls. Be nice to her…

Vernon decides your fate at the facility..will you enter..that is the big question. I think he uses his powers for good not evil..I hope this photo doesn’t caused a breach in security..

By NFL terms, this organization is young, but it is already steeped with great tradition and accomplishment.

Many players featured, of course Ray Lewis. When you think Ravens, you think Ray Lewis..

Manny and Jen

In every organization there is an individual that silently does their job without expectation of reward. They love what they do taking great pride and honor. Manny and I took this picture together, but Tenille shared with me that Manny knows the  complete history of this team and is the hardest worker going… I sat back and observed his diligence.It was very apparent he love his job……Who has the bigger muscle?????

 

 I had to include this picture..Jerry Sandusky is an outstadning sportscaster in Baltimore. Jerry is the voice of the Ravens and I was thrilled to meet him at the facility..I have been watching Jerry for years. Check him out on WBAL channel 11.

It was such a pleasure to spend the day with Tenille, Nick, Billy, and the other Raven staff members. As my #1 team has been knocked out of the playoffs, I am hoping to see the Ravens in Indy..Below I have recreated one of Nick’s fabulous recipes..

Ravens Chicken and Roasted Vegetable Lasagna

2 tbsp. Extra Virgin Olive Oil

2 Tbsp. Chopped Basil

2 Tbsp. Chopped Parsley

2 Tbsp. Chopped Scallions

1 Tsp. Red Pepper Flakes

Salt & Pepper to taste

2 Tbsp. Chopped Garlic

1 Med. Onion Diced

1 Red Pepper Sliced

1 Zucchini Sliced Thinly on the Diagonal

1 Summer Squash Sliced Thinly on the Diagonal

1 Cup Shredded Carrots

1 Lb. Cooked Chicken Breast Sliced Thinly (grilled or baked)

1 (16oz) Carton Low-fat Cottage Cheese

2 Cups Low-fat Shredded Mozzarella Cheese

1 1/2 Cups Grated Parmesan Cheese

1 ( 26oz.) Jar Marinara sauce

12 No-Boil Lasagna Noodles

Coat a non-stick baking pan with cooking spray. Place zucchini, squash, red pepper, onion, and carrots on baking sheet. Brush with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake for 15 minutes at 400 degrees.

In a bowl, combine cottage cheese, 1/2 cup of the grated parmesan, garlic, basil, parsley, red pepper flakes, salt & pepper.

Spread about 1/4 cup of marinara sauce in a 13-in. x 9-in. baking dish coated with non-stick spray. Layer the pan with four lasagna noodles, half of the roasted vegetables, half of the sliced chicken, and half of the cottage cheese mixture. Sprinkle with mozzarella cheese and grated parmesan. Repeat layers. Top with remaining noodles and sauce.

Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 30  minutes. Uncover and sprinkle with remaining cheese. Bake for another 10 minutes. Let lasagna stand for 10 minutes before serving. Garnish with fresh parsley. Serves 10-12

Billy Cundiff and his wife Nicole

Stay tuned for my part two of blog…featuring Billy

Just remember…Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day

