As I am doing another re-post, you don’t have to  worry about me suffering from writer’s block. I am just lucky to have met some outstanding people over the last few months. Earlier this week I re-posted my blog about Michael Robinson because he made the Pro Bowl this year. Now I am re-posting my article about Marirose Roach of the Philadelphia Passion a team in the LFL. Yes, the LFL is an acronym for Lingerie Football League. Ok, take a deep breath and read about Marirose and you will see she is an outstanding athlete…that is why she was the league MVP this year 🙂 and lead the Passion to their Super Bowl this weekend in Las Vegas. Unfortunately, Marirose won’t be able to play in the championship game due to a neck injury. Read about Marirose and check out my awesome Super Bowl dishes you still have time to pull together.

On Sunday afternoon at the Fox and Hound sports bar in Philadelphia, I sat down with Chandler Brown, Marirose Roach, and Ronald J. Rick of the Philadelphia Passion. The Passion is a part of the LFL as Chandler calls it, but the acronym stands for Lingerie Football League. Chandler is the head coach, Marirose is the star running back, and Ronald is an assistant coach for the Passion.  Also, I now have a passion for the best drink ever…The Chocolate Cover Pretzel compliments of the bartender at the Fox and Hound. Outstanding!

Chandler Brown, Jen Heasley, and Marirose Roach at the Fox and Hound

Great sports bar in Philadelphia! Check it out

http://www.foxandhound.com/locations/philly.aspx

A few weeks ago, I came across the LFL on youtube.  After watching a clip, I was shocked by the level of intensity and competition. Even though the attire may be revealing (well very revealing),  I found these woman to be about the game of football. During my interview, Chandler and Marirose made it very clear that their involvement with the LFL is based on a love and passion for the sport. In Mariroses’ words, “The outfit is a non-factor.” “I just want to play football.” I have to tell you I like how this woman thinks!


Jen Heasley and Marirose Roach Philadelphia Passion #6

Great interview! Delightful woman who is dedicated to her sport!

Check out Marirose shake and bake on the field! She is a beast!

Upon seeing the video clip of the Passion, I expressed to Chandler that I wanted to meet Marirose. She is so explosive on the field and a dominating force for the Passion. As a player, Marirose is aggressive and physical, but off the field she is a soft spoken, modest, young woman. Chandler frequently said throughout the interview that Marirose is the best player in the league, but she humbly waved off his comments. After my conversation with Marirose, I had to side with Chandler.

Marirose has been playing sports since the age of 5. She started with Soccer in Wichita, Kansas. At the age of seven Marirose’s family moved to Connecticut and there she started playing football in the pee wee league. She played football until high school when she had to back to playing soccer along with basketball and track. As a stand out athlete, Marirose played soccer and ran track for University of Temple. There she earned her bachelors degree as well as her law degree. Not too shabby considering she played two sports in undergrad. Marirose currently has her own law firm, however she looks to move into sports management in the future. Basically, she works non-stop.

Chandler and Marirose expressed how intense the try outs were. The process is similar to that of an NFL combine. Skills and drills become more challenging and the numbers are reduced. Roughly 200 women start off and they end up with 20. Steep odds for any sport, but that is what pushes all athletes to bring their A game.  Clearly, Marirose Roach is pushing herself to be the best. My plan is to attend next year’s combine to show these young ladies how the game is played. Actually, I think I’ll stick with my Gold’s Gym membership.

Balancing a life of a full-time job with a very demanding part-time job, must be difficult.  Several of the women are also mothers. It is very apparent that these individuals are dedicated to this game and being successful at it. The LFL runs from August to February just as the NFL. At this point there are 12 teams and they play four games, however they have a tight practice schedule with many other commitments.  This sport is not easy on their bodies, but they are absolutely playing as hard as the guys. Honestly, I am a bit disappointed that there were no arena football leagues for women 20 years ago. I could have been a Jack Lambert-Ray Lewis all in one. 🙂

I hope this shed some light on the LFL.  For the women in this league it is about the sport and not the attire. In my next blog, Chandler will discuss his perspective as a coach in the LFL. No worries I didn’t forget about the food. I will share their favorite recipes along with the places they enjoy in the city of Philadelphia!! Don’t forget to give the Chocolate Covered Pretzel a try. Delicious!!

The Chocolate Covered Pretzel

– Whipped Cream Vodka

– Frangelico

– Salt to rim glass

– Shot Glasses

In a shake filled with ice, add 1/2 shot of  Whipped Cream Vodka,

1/2 shot of Frangelico and chill. Rim a separate shot glass with salt. Using strainer,

pour the drink into the shot glass.

Fast Charlies (CC Peppers) Nachos….

When I spoke with Marirose this week, I asked her what her favorite dishes would be out of season and for the Super Bowl…my girl said Nachos, Wings, Pizza, and beer…spoken like a true athlete and a woman after my own heart…

Fast Charlies Nacho are a product of my time at Penn State. My part-time job was tending bar at Fast Charlies which was attached to CC Peppers. CC Peppers is a mainstay at Penn State. It is located on College Ave the artery that runs through the downtown of our campus. Please ask any of your friends that attended PSU about CC Peppers…they will give you the 411..Fast Charlies has some new name I think maybe the Shark Bar, but CC Peppers is standing firm for all late night customers. I mean it’s still tasty at 2:00 P.M….

Fast Charlies Nachos

Ingredients…

1 large bag of traditional Doritos chips (or two) everyone will love these

3 cups shredded nacho cheese mix

1 cup sour cream

1 cup salsa

1 cup guacamole

1/2 pickled jalapenos chopped

You may have to up the amounts of all ingredients because these are a bit different and truly awesome!!!!

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. On oven safe serving dish or baking sheet, layer doritos and cheese, then another lay, and finally a third layer of chips but don’t add cheese. Bake for 3 minutes. Remove from oven and add cheese to the top and bake for an addtional 3 minutes.

Remove from oven and add all sides as you see in the picture. All of your guest may not like each of the sides. This way they can top with what they like…

Classic Buffalo Wings…

The Classic Bufffalo Wing is very easy….

Ingredients..

– 2 lbs chicken wings, if fresh cut at the joint of the wing… please remove feathers…it is a bad look..

– salt and pepper

– 1 bottle of your favorite hot sauce ( I use Crystal)

-1/2 stick of butter

– canola oil

Directions 

Rinse and pat wings dry. Season with salt and pepper. Pre-heat oil to 350 degrees. Fry chicken for 10 submerged in oil.

 In sauce pot or microwave, heat up hot sauce and butter.

When chicken is fried, drain on paper towel and repeat process of frying until all pieces are fried.

After all chicken is fried, toss chicken in hot sauce/ butter mixture  in a large bowl and place on baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 5 minutes. Pour the remaining sauce on chicken when you remove from oven.

Serve with celery, carrots, blue cheese, ranch, or any other favorite side….

Sloppy Joes….

If I were Catholic (my father was a Luther minister so I am a close second), I would be going to confession right now. The priest would open the window and I would ask the father to forgive me because I have sinned…why..because I am going against the grain and belief system of my entire childhood. As a child, I despised sloppy joes. I have a documented history of launching food protests or “fasting” for a  meal…Topping my list of foods to boycott…sloppy joes..but I will now share with you the best Sloppy Joe Recipe Ever… my mother has forgiven me for my bad behavior 🙂

Ingredients

1 lb ground beef

1 large red onion

2 cups Bisquick

2 eggs whisked

1 cup cheddar cheese (shredded)

8 hamburger roll buns

egg wash ( 2 additional eggs whisked)

chili powder

kosher salt

mambo sauce 

1 cup ketchup

1/2 cup sugar

4 tbsp water

5 tbsp vinegar

1 Spanish Paprika

2 tbsp hot sauce

2 tbsp Sriracha Sauce

Directions

Make mambo sauce in advance…mix all ingredients over medium heat and simmer.

Brown ground beef, and drain. Add mambo sauce and allow to simmer.

Sandwich is made with onion rings…slice onios thin…dredge in eggs, and Bisquick. Fry in canola oil at 350 degrees until golden brown…drain on paper towel

Rolls will be brushed with egg wash and sprinkled with chili powder and kosher salt…butter bottom of rolls and bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 10 minutes

When rolls are bake, on bun base place a dollop of  sloppy joe mixture and cheddar cheese and place under broiler for 3 minutes until cheese is gooey… top with onion rings and serve.

Redemption for my food snobbery as a child

Bacon Cheeseburger….another reason to love me….

Ingredients….

1 lb ground beef

salt and pepper

1 large red onion

1 lb bacon

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1 cup of your favorite bbq sauce ( I like Sweet Baby Ray’s Sweet and Spicy)

8 Ciabatta rolls

butter

Directions….

Shape ground beef into 8 hamburger patties. Make them flat not plump with a little indentation so they won’t swell while cooking. Season both sides with salt and pepper. Grill burgers in  a grill pan or skillet over medium heat. Cook to desire preparedness.

While preparing burgers, in a separate skillet, begin to fry bacon. Midway through frying add thinly slice onions and saute until tender. Bacon should be crisp. Drain bacon and onions on paper towel. Place onions, bacon, and cheddar cheese on burgers and cover to melt cheese. (add a little water to create steam)

Cut ciabatta rolls and place in microwave for 30 seconds to soften. Butter and grill for 5 minutes.

To plate burgers..add bbq sauce to the bottom of roll, place burger, and add another drizzle of bbq sauce. Just a kiss of love…

Have a great Super Bowl….just know on Monday I will be in mourning…

Remember…….Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day!!!!!

