As a little girl, my summers were spent playing outside with my brothers and the other neighborhood kids. From sunrise to the dark of night, we were riding bikes and skate boarding, playing kickball, basketball, and capture the flag, climbing trees and writing our own plays…… but my favorite thing of all…. the races. You couldn’t tell me I wasn’t the baddest chick on the block (actually not the block because I live in a very small town). Every chance I got, I was challenging someone to a race. We would race until we dropped. Even though I have run many high school, college and post college races, my fondest memories of running were in my backyard with fire flies all around and gnats going up my nose. I remember the exhilaration I experienced when I would beat the boys. Most of the time I was barefoot and carefree, pumping my skinny little arms and talking trash the whole way. Nothing could match that energy. However, last weekend I felt that same energy surging through my body at The Armory in Manhattan, New York. The Armory is an unbelievable indoor track and field facility that was the home of the Millrose Games this year. In the world of track and field, the Millrose Games is one of the premiere places to show your skills…..

In the past, the Millrose Games were hosted at Madison Square Garden, but this year it was moved to The Armory. Even though there is considerably less seating, the facilities are amazing…….

Everything is beautiful, modern, and powerful…..this wall represents Hall Of Fame athletes and coaches…

The pictures are captivating….the history and glory of this sport is brought to life by walls that speak to you through incredible images…..

A tribute to the high school record holders….what an honor..

New Balance is one of the main sponsors for this event…This piece of technology gives an athlete the opportunity to customize their spikes….how times have changed. My first pair of outdoor spikes were all white with a 2″ spike because we ran on a cinder track. Word to the wise….never fall on a cinder track 🙂

There you have it….what all runners replay in their minds. Every time you walk on to a track it’s a clean slate and open to new records. This particular indoor track is 200 meters and banked. As the athletes were running by me, I could hear the thunder and power behind every stride. We did witness the men’s speed walking….there wasn’t any thunder as they passed us on the turn. But don’t get it twisted….they were as intense as any other athlete in the venue…

One of the many 4X400 relays…this shows you that relay races aren’t just about running as fast as you can… but the strategy involve when you are running as a pack.

Running tactically is very important……

My reason for attending the 105th Millrose Games was to watch my niece Alexis and her team from Garden City, Long Island run in the Long Island division of the 4X400 relay…..this is Alexis (white top) waiting for her race…she was the second leg…you can see she is in the zone and ready to run

Alexis got the stick(baton) in second to last place…and I am proud to say she made up significant ground helping her team earn a silver medal…. I am also proud to tell you her college choices are Columbia, Princeton, or The University of Penn…pretty darn impressive

The clock ( I don’t know what this time was for)…either you love it or hate it at the end of your race but it holds the truth…Our posse left the Armory shortly after Alexis ran. Most of the elite races and field events are held later in the evening. We opted not to stay as the group that came to cheer Alexis on included 12 young children….enough said

Food Trucks In NYC

Even though The Armory has a lovely cafe…we typically go with the food trucks stationed outside the Armory…this is not the one we frequent but this shows my ability to copy and paste. 

Frites ‘N’ Meats….

When we hit the food trucks, Leslie always wants some chicken and rice…”meat on a stick” my girl would say. On the other hand, I will gravitate to a cheese steak and fry truck…Frites ‘N’ Meat….I will tell you I make an excellent home cut fry and a delicious “California Cheese Steak” as you see above..

California Cheese Steak

-1 lb thinly sliced top cut sirloin

-American cheese

-red oinon

– shredded lettuce

-mayonnaise

-ketchup

-fresh hoagie roll

– red wine vinegar

– olive oil

– salt/pepper

1. In 250 degree oven..roast thinly slice sirlon for 30 minutes.. Prep meat with olive oil, salt, and pepper..

2. After meat is roasted, allow it rest for 5 to 10 minutes. Then chop meat finely.

3. Cut hoagie roll, butter, and grill in skillet, add mayonnaise, meat, ketchup and top with cheese. Place under broiler to melt cheese.

4. Remove from broiler top with shredded lettuce, onion, red wine vinegar/olive oil, and some Italian seasoning. You can add tomato. My kids boycott tomato…

Home Cut Fries

– 8 large Yukon gold potatoes

– Canola oil

– pepper/sea salt

1. Using a mandolin, cut potatoes into fries or hand cut.

2. Place fries into bowl of water for 30 minutes. This pulls some of the starch from potatoes.

3. Remove fries from water and pat dry with paper towels.

4. Place fries in oil at 350 degrees.

5. Allow fries to brown for 5-7 minutes. Remove and drain on paper towel. Repeat with all fries.

6. Increase the oil temperature to 425 degrees and repeat process. This will give you crisp and delicious fries. Remove from oil, drain on paper towel, and season with salt and pepper.

I am preparing to run a race in April…. so I can eat my Frites ‘N’ Meats…..

Remember…..Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day?

