Can you say “Linsanity”…I am so pro Jeremy Lin I can hardly stand it! Why, because he has the perfect plot line for the ultimate underdog story. All of my English Teacher friends are beaming with pride in this very moment. Let me share the literary elements that make this an exceptional saga.

Exposition (shall we say)  Introduction…as a high school senior Jeremy lead his team to a 32-1season and the CIF Division II title. Jeremy averaged 15.1 points, 7.1 assists, 6.2 rebounds, and 5.0 steals..those are some good-looking stats…

Conflict..even with these impressive stats, colleges weren’t throwing scholarship offers Jeremy’s way. Not only was he a standout athlete, Jeremy had a 4.2 GPA (I don’t even know how you get a 4.2 GPA) but the PAC 10 schools wanted Jeremy to be a walk-on. Finally, Harvard offered Jeremy a spot on the team as he met academic and athletic requirement(Ivy League schools don’t give athletic scholarships)..

Rising Action….Jeremy graduated from Harvard having scored 1483 points, a degree in Economics, and a 3.1 GPA. Going un-drafted in the 2010 NBA draft, he later joined the Dallas Mavericks for mini-camps as well as the NBA summer camps held in Las Vegas.Finally in July of 2010, he signed with the Golden State Warriors. Jeremy played very little last season. During the off-season and lockout, Jeremy worked hard to improve his jump shot. He also doubled the amount he could squat, improved his upper body strength, increased his vertical leap by 3.5 inches, and gained twelve pounds. I did the same thing 🙂 . When the lockout ended, he didn’t have an opportunity to show his accomplishments, as he was waived the first day of the season. Next stop the Rockets, Jeremy played seven minutes in two pre-season games and once again was waived. On to the next one, as Jay-Z would say, Jeremy found himself signing with the New York Knicks (not S.Carter’s Nets..I wonder if baby Blue Ivy goes to the games).

My man Jeremy certainly got his workout on!!!!

Climax/Turning Point….Coach D’Antoni stating, “I’m riding him like Secretariat”…After several injuries and other “stuff” impacting the Knicks rooster, D’Antoni went to Jeremy out of desperation….supposedly, ok probably. So, after his first start his coach saw him like Secretariat. Who the heck is his bookie? A Triple Crown reference? To date, I will give you Jeremy’s trifecta…14.4 points per game, 5.8 assists, and 1.5 steals. Again, Carpe Diem…Seize The Day my friends. You never know when or why an opportunity comes your way..but ride the wave.

Jeremy (as I have watched as much ESPN about him as possible) has been gracious, humble, and true to his passion for the sport he loves. Because I was raised on athletes that inspired me, I would be remise in not mentioning Jeremy’s impact on the Asian-American community. Not just because he is crashing through a stereotype, but he is giving the NBA a shot in the arm. As a young girl, I loved Cheryl Miller and Jackie Joyner-Kearser for a reason. They empowered me in a way that others didn’t. Who doesn’t love what Jeremy is doing? Ok there are some “haters” …but forget them. This is why we love sports and what hard work and tenacity represent!!! Sport fans want to see “that person”.. do.. “that thing..which leads to… “that success”..

Resolution….Jeremy Lin is now a starter and “Linsanity” is sweeping the nation. If nothing else, Jeremy has given the NBA a great story for the year. Very Tebow like!!!  I hope he is able to seize this opportunity and the wave is long lasting.

New York Style Pizza…Meat Lovers with my homemade meatball

Now that Jeremy is in the Big Apple, he’s gotta get himself some of the best pizza in the world. Below is my meat lovers and I make a mean meatball…

Delicious!!!!!

Remember….Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day!!!

