This past week Sheets convenience store called to let me know they were “toying” with the idea of offering “JH1” the “franchise tag” as a result of my exceptional loyalty to their coffee stand. I can go by my initials too RG3… :).  Since receiving my “Sheets Bonus Card” a few months ago, I have apparently racked up more “free” coffees than any other customer. Huge perk for a caffeine addict. Alright,alright, alright… I didn’t get the offer, but I can tell you I am the poster child (as I am so youthful) for Sheets coffee. Truth be told…. I am at Pro Bowl/MVP status for this company. They may want to consider going into negotiations with me.

Please note this an “X-Large” at 5 O’clock in the morning (not a T-Pain /Wiz Khalifa reference, I really wake up at that time) You will see I don’t mess around with anything less than 20 oz. of coffee. To that….. you must add about 6 swiss chocolate creamers. I have had about six of these working on this blog alone!! 

At this point in my “fantasy” contract negotiations with Sheets, I haven’t been offered the 9.4 million dollars that a wide receivers would earn as a franchise player, however DeSean Jackson has. DeSean got the nod and he accepted. Now it’s not the 100 million dollar deal Michael Vick earned, but substantially better than his 600,000 he was earning up to this point. DeSean is exceedingly talented, relatively underpaid for his accomplishments, and 25 years old. That was the perfect storm for what Eagle’s fans saw this year. Sports psychologist I am not, but I feel comfortable saying DeSean’s performance on and off the field were a direct correlation to his unresolved contract situation. Dr.Phil did not return my calls. I was looking for validation on my assessment.  Sadly for me, that hurricane impacted my life. How you may ask???…I went to the Eagles vs Cardinals with my friend Mark Levin of the NFLPA and DeSean was benched for not attending a meeting. Come on DeSean…I wanted to see you play!!!

No, this wasn’t a replay, but pregame highlights…My only opportunity to take a picture of DeSean. 

The coin toss and  Randall Cunningham was on the scene. A true franchise player for the Philadelphia Eagles from 1985-1995. The fans at Lincoln Financial gave Randall a huge cheer!!!

What is a Franchise Tag….

In the National Football League, the franchise tag is a designation a team may apply to a player scheduled to become an unrestricted free agent. The tag binds the player to the team for one year if certain conditions are met. Each team has access each year to only one franchise tag (of either the exclusive or non-exclusive forms) and one transition tag. As a result, each team may only designate one player each year as that team’s franchise player. It has been designed to reduce player movement (often to bigger markets) which is often evidenced in other major pro sports leagues.

Usually reserved for players of great skill or of high importance to the team, a franchise tag allows a team’s general manager the privilege of strategically retaining valuable free-agent players while seeking talent through the NFL draft or other acquisitions without exceeding the League’s salary cap. A team may also franchise tag a player with 2 or more years left on a contract.

The designated franchise player will have his one year salary guaranteed if he elects to play for the team that designated him with the franchise tag and if he does not negotiate a contract with another team.

I am so knowledgeable…..

This is Mark Levin NFLPA and his college buddies as we tailgated at the game….they just want their team to win!!! My Magic 8 Ball tells me they are hoping that the “Franchise Tag” will allow DeSean to focus on his future and play to his potential.

Mint Cafe Mocha Mini Cheesecakes!!!!

In an effort to join our “Franchise Tags”, regardless if mine is a self imposed title or not, I have fused DeSean’s city and my addiction.

Mini Mocha Cheesecakes with a mint wafer crust!!!

Very easy…..

16 oz of cream cheese softened ( two bricks)

2 eggs

1 cup sugar

1/4 flour

1/2 cup brewed coffee or 2 tbsp of instant coffee

1/4 chocolate syrup

16-20 cup mint wafers and 1/4 cup chocolate chip (blended in food processor)

Cream all of these ingredients together with hand held mixer..,

Crust…..

In food processor, chop up 20 mint wafer ( think girl scout thin mint)

– 1/3 cups melted butter

Directions….

1. Blend all cheesecake ingredients on high in blender or with a hand held blender and set aside

2. Add melted butter to chopped wafers and mix, using a teaspoon place mixture in the base of a lined mini muffin pan (use muffin papers). Press down with fingers.

3. Add a tbsp on cream cheese mixture to each cupcake tin….Bake for 15 minutes at 350 degrees. Add one chocolate chip for the remaining 5 minutes..

A great quick dessert!!!!!

Remember…Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day????

