All of the wonderful events sponsored by the Ed Block Courage Foundation came to a crescendo with the awards ceremony. Hundreds of football fans descended upon Martins West in Owings Mills, Maryland to bask in the presence of many elite names in the NFL and enjoy an evening of honors and accolades. Acknowledgement’s went to all of the players in attendance, military veterans, media veterans, The Green Bay Packers training staff, Wade Phillips of the Houston Texans for his fight against cancer, along with tons of entertainment. My evening was delightful as the ladies Leslie I dined with were hilarious, I met Sage Steele,  and I had a succulent crab cake. Many components to the ceremony were tremendously moving as I am always astonished by the perseverance and determination that others seem to embody. If you reflect on many of our favorite football movies, Ruby, Remembering The Titans, Brian’s Song, and The Blind Side to name a few. The big screen is depicting art imitating life. As I talked with players and listened to the speeches, I was able to draw parallels between what movies have been able to recreate and real life accounts I heard during my interviews. Courage, honor, determination, dedication, self-confidence, loyalty, and self-awareness are the common threads that seemed to resonate.

AFC and NFC North receiving their awards..Anthony Herrera the Vikings, T.J. Lang the Packers, Shaun Hill the Lions, D’Qwell Jackson the Browns, Mike Nugget the Bengals, and Morgan Cox the Ravens

I could not figure out how to deal with the blue lighting situation. Sorry… as I know you have come accustom to my quality photography. 🙂 Above the AFC and NFC East Stephen Bowen of the Redskins, Mike Patterson of the Eagles, Tony Romo of the Cowboys, Mathias Kiwanuka of the Giants, Marcus Cannon of the Patriots, and Andra Davis of the Bills…

AFC and NFC South Jimmy Graham of the Saints, Thomas Davis the Panthers, Kerry Meier the Falcons, Derrick Morgan of the Titans, Jarett Dillard of the Jaguars, and DeMeco Ryans of the Texans..A great story from our time at the event…Leslie talked to a man in the lobby of the hotel who had waited at least 12 hours for Jimmy Graham to sign a football for his son. With all sincerity, I hope he got that autograph. I don’t define that as “Stalkarazzi” …that’s an awesome Dad

And last but not least, AFC and NFC West Brit Miller of the Rams, Early Doucet of the Cardinals, Curtis Brinkley the Charges, Trevor Scott of the Raiders, and Jon McGraw of the Chiefs

Our tablemates, Stephanie, Nikki, and Molly..we loved these women. Molly could not stop professing her undying love for Tony Romo and fell in love with Chafie Fields (my friend and Early Doucet’s agent). It’s so refreshing to meet new people you can laugh with like old friends.

This gentleman, and I apologize as I don’t remember his name, was one of the drivers transporting players to their different destinations. His enthusiasm as to how kind everyone had been and the pleasure of being involved with the event was touching.

Curtis Brinkley of the Chargers and Chafie Fields…. Philadelphia natives and  so debonair 

My new/old friend Mike Nugent of the Bengals…these trophies are truly pieces of art

Early Doucet with fans. First, Early I love the dimples. Second, it’s apparent the fan didn’t want to offend any NFL team therefore he wore a vest that was all-inclusive. And lastly, the young lady must have been the true Cardinals fan sporting her red. 

Nick Cannon oh I’m sorry Jarret Dillard of the Jaguars. Jarret was one of the players I had the opportunity to interview and if he isn’t Nick Cannon’s understudy I don’t know who is….he was a fun interview and a true pleasure to meet

Trevor Scott of the Raiders….another wonderful guy that really embraced the fans during his time at the Ed Block activities. Trevor was gracious to everyone he was chatting with…

Leslie with Paul Mittermeier of the Ed Block Courage Awards Foundation. Paul worked his tail off and did a fabulous job!!! Kudos

And the absolute highlight of my evening was meeting Sage Steele. Just incredibly dynamic and what all ESPN fan’s could hope…exceedingly kind. Lovely.. I did explain to Sage I wanted her job about 15 years ago but that ship has sailed. 

This blog and my show are about connecting sports, athletes, food, and fans. Because I try not to take myself to seriously (outside of parenting and that’s suspect), coupled with I lack a degree in broadcasting, you now get to see some truly entertaining interviews that represent the great time I had talking with some players.

DeMeco Ryans of the Texans. In this video you will see I have a difficult time say the word “prestigious” I laughed for about 30 minutes when I first saw the video

Sam Lamantia, Jr. CEO and Chairman of the Board has been dedicated to this cause for the 35 years

Brit Miller of the Rams…I loved this guy..he is very entertaining 

And last but not least, Stephen Bowen of the Redskins…another on screen comedian. Soon I will be starting my “Dancing With The Stars” write-in campaign for Brit and Stephen. 

Jarret Dillard of the Jacksonville Jaguars….aka Nick Cannon…..Seriously, at no point did I call him by Jarett only Nick

Curtis Brinkley of The San Diego Chargers……..We both love Ruth Chris Steakhouse

Spending time at the Ed Block Awards was just incredible…below are two twists on “condiments”…I used horseradish just for Brit…

Roast Beef Sandwich with Grilled Romaine Lettuce and Horseradish Sauce

Normally, a horseradish sauce is served with Prime Rib. I have taken that concept and made it a bit more wallet friendly…

Ingredients 

– 2 lbs quality deli style roast beef sliced thinly

– 1 lb provolone cheese

– 4 romaine hearts

– Crusty Portuguese Bread

– Red Onion sliced thinly

Horseradish Sauce

mix together in small bowl

– 3 tbsp prepared horseradish

– 1/2 cup sour cream

– 1 tsp Dijon mustard

– 1/4 cup mayonnaise

– 1 tbsp chopped chives

Directions

1. On stove top grill brushed with olive oil, pull leaves of romaine hearts and grill. Grill until they wilt. Remove and lightly season with salt and pepper.

2. While grilling lettuce, cut bread and toast. I like to butter and grill the bread.

3. Set oven to broil. On baking sheet place 6-8 quarter pound stacks of the roast beef topped with a slice of provolone cheese. Place under broiler until cheese has melted.

4. Assemble sandwich…place a “stack” of roast beef on grilled bread, add sliced onions, and grilled lettuce. Spread horseradish sauce on top slice of grilled bread. Thrown in some toothpicks…it will be easier to cut!!! YUM

Chipotle Sauce…served with Cheese Quesadilla

 Chipotle Sauce could replace all of the ketchup you heard about in the videos. Excellent on french fries if  you like the kick!!!

The star here is the “Chipotle Sauce”

– 2 chipotles in adobo sauce

– 1/2 sour cream or crema

– 1/4 cup mayonnaise

– 1 small clove of garlic

– 1 sauce

Puree all ingredients in food processor and refrigerate

Cheese Quesadilla

– flour tortillas

– shredded nacho/tex-mex blended cheese

Directions

1. Pre-heat large skillet to medium, lightly brushed with vegetable oil.

2. Place tortilla in skillet, spread on cheese,  and top with another tortilla.

3. Brown and flip..

4. Cut into wedges and serve

Some great new “condiments” for you to try!!!

Remember….Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day?

Don’t Forget to download Cooking With The Pros App…it is FREE!!

