One would think that attending a sporting event wouldn’t require therapy to deal with a “fear factor”. Over the last year, I have worked through a tremendous loss, but I know I will make my way back to the ball park..Here is my story…

Sovereign Stadium home of the York Revolution…Beautiful facility…very family friendly…

Last year my friend Melissa hosted her daughter Sophia’s birthday party at Sovereign Bank Stadium on opening day for the York Revolution.  Everything was going beautifully until the 5th inning (I think).  A home run ricocheted off the party seating, clobbered me in the head, broke my favorite Coach sunglasses, and then spilled my beer into the french fries. Talk about stunned..forget the mild concussion I probably suffered; I mourned the loss of my sunglasses for months. My favorite accessory was lost in a split second..

Paige, Brooke, Olivia, and Sophia…minor league stadiums are an excellent way to have a fabulous family outing. Not only are the tickets cheaper, they often have a playground area along with activities for the kids..Win Win Win my friends….

Unfortunately, my daughters and I won’t be attending the Orioles opening day this year. Make a note..don’t wait until the last minute to get tickets!!!  Breaking into Paige and Brooke’s college funds to pay “scalpers”…probably wouldn’t be appropriate.

In wake of my disappointing procrastination on the tickets, I have thought through some of my favorite ball park foods you can whip up at home. It’s ok to take a step beyond hot dogs, peanuts, and cracker jacks.

Unique treats you can get in different regions and ball parks…give them a try!!!

Bay Area Garlic Fries….For you San Fran Fans

– Vegetable Oil

– 5 large russet potatoes

– minced garlic in oil (jarred)

– parsley (dried)

– salt and pepper mixer

– In large skillet or dutch oven, pre-heat oil to 350 degrees

– Clean and julienne potatoes, do not peel skins

– fry potatoes at 350 degrees for 7 to 8 minutes

– remove and drain on paper towel. Repeat until all potatoes have been fried once

– increase temperature of oil to 365 degrees.

– Fry potatoes a second time for approximately 15 to 30 seconds

– immediately remove from oil, put into large bowl, add 1 tbs. of minced garlic, 1 tbs. parsley

and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Toss with tongs and pour onto large platter

-Repeat process

The fries are incredible. The sweetness of the garlic is an unexpected taste. Also, very tasty with ketchup and ranch dressing.

Houston fans enjoy Fajitas and Tostadas 

 Chipotle Chicken Tostada

– 10-12 8 inch corn or flour tortillas (corn is traditional but I like flour)

– 1 rotisserie chicken

– 2 chipolte in adobo sauce

– 1 cup sour cream (and sour cream to dollop on top)

– 1/2 cup mayonnaise

– 1/2 cup cilantro

– avocado

– chopped tomato

– shredded lettuce

– pickled jalapenos

– oil for frying (canola)

Direction

1. Fry tortillas over medium heat until golden brown. Place on paper towel and season with salt and pepper.

2. Shred breast of rotisserie chicken (or you could roast 2 breasts)

3. In food processor, mix chicken, sour cream, mayo, chipotle with sauce, and cilantro.

4. Spread chicken mixture on tortillas, top with lettuce, tomato, avocado, jalapenos, and sour cream

Old Bay Wings at Camden Yards……


– 4 1/2 lbs chicken wings (this is a standard package)

– Old Bay Seasoning

– 1 stick of butter

– vegetable oil (or peanut)

Directions

– pre-heat oil to 375 degrees in large skillet or dutch oven

– rinse chicken

– cut chicken tips and cut at the joint of the wing

– put chicken into pre-heated oil (no seasoning or dredging) do not over crowd skillet

– fry chicken at 375 degrees for 2 minutes and reduce heat to 350 degrees for the remaining 10 minutes

– set oven to broiler

– melt stick of butter and add 1/4 cup old bay seasoning in large mixing bowl

– allow fried fried chicken to rest on a paper towel

– place chicken in bowl with old bay butter and toss with tongs

– put on baking sheet sprinkle each piece with old bay broil for 2 minutes

– flip wings at the 2 minute mark, sprinkle opposite side with old bay, and broil for two more minutes

– serve with ranch dressing, carrots, and celery….I also fry up potato sticks…


Thanks for joining me and remember…………..Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game?

