Because I was exceedingly dedicated to my education, Penn State afforded me 5 years to perfect my undergraduate studies :).  Being a perfectionist, I deemed it necessary to understand all of the social norms (my strong point) that impact a college campus. As a result of my extensive research, I am highly qualified to speak to the value of Penn State hosting their annual “Blue White Game“. This intrasquad game, which is of no cost, draws thousands of alumni back to the campus for a weekend of reunions, tailgates, parties, and reminiscing! What does this prove you ask….football brings people together. Who cares if you actually watch the game in the stadium or spend the entire time in a tent enjoying some beverages, people come together because football is one of the social norms of Penn State. This year I had the opportunity to hit Happy Valley for all of that fun!!!

Many stopped to pay respects to this statue…I saw people knelt down in prayer and others taking pictures with the sculpture..tremendous loyalty to Coach Paterno

A few months ago, I didn’t plan on attending this years Blue White Game, but then I was presented with two great opportunities by some of my friends who just happen to be former Penn State football players. I featured Rick Sayles and his non-profit organization Penn’s Civilians in a previous blog and Keith Goganious and Chris Thorpe welcomed me to cater their annual Football Alumni Social. Obviously, I am highly sought after, therefore I felt it necessary to head to State College for the Blue White Weekend.

Beaver Stadium a true landmark at PSU…

Blue White Weekend also draws many of the former football players…These gentlemen just happen to be some of my favorite people

Chafie Fields, Shelly Hammonds, Wally Richardson, Lee Rubin, and Marlon Forbes..

Several of these guys had solid NFL careers, but more importantly they are all very successful off the field. Chafie is a highly respected sports agent, Shelly is in Federal Law Enforcement, Wally works for UNC for their football team in their academic department, Lee recently wrote the book Win and is a motivational speaker, and Marlon works for the New York Housing Authority. As my friends, I am very proud of all of their accomplishments.

Ok..the red hair net looking things are hilarious to me..I mean I get it and all.. but still funny

Not only is this a great time to party, but many alumni bring their children up for this experience. As there is no cost for the tickets, it allows families to have a game day experience, at a greatly reduced rate. Penn State even sets up a full carnival for the children. Sorry I didn’t photograph the carnival.. because it was awesome. However, as a side note, I suggest that the hotels stop asking for my first-born included in the price of a room.

LaTrese Brown and Sabrina Jones

Blue White Weekend also brings old friends together. LaTrese (who should be a stand-up comedian) and I have been friends since our sophomore year at Penn State. This weekend I had the good fortune of sharing a room with her and another long-lost friend Adia Brown. Sabrina and I only knew each other in passing while at PSU ..but that is the beauty of a reunion..you get to make new friends.

Me, Terrell, Vanessa, and Leslie at the alumni party….

My weekend just got better and better…as luck would have it I ran into some of my sorority sisters. I haven’t seen, Terrell Robinson, Vanessa Thompson Christian, and Leslie Crudup, in years.. A big eee-yip to Kappa Rho…I look really pretty in this picture

We Are Penn State!!!!

Even though my school has experienced a very difficult year, I will always say with great pride I am an alumnus of The Pennsylvania State University

Small I know..taken with my phone…

No trip to Penn State goes without gift purchasing…these are for my track girls Dawn, Leslie, and Shelly who couldn’t make it up to spend the weekend with me.  And I better see it on their cars next time we’re all together. No worries, I did buy Paige and Brooke new t-shirts to add to their extensive collection. Parenting 101… when you go out of town get gifts…

Even though my girls didn’t attend the Blue White Weekend with me (there was a  protest on their part and I ignored them) my children are Penn State Legacy…My father, myself, and hopefully one of them…We Are Penn State

Football, Penn State Football…brings so many together…my weekend was outstanding and I thank my university and my exceptional friends for an incredible time…catering the event for Keith and Chris gave me butterflies initially because well…what will people say about the food..but I am happy to report I received rave reviews…Yay Me!!

Due to my demanding party schedule while at Penn State, I didn’t photograph the food, but we had a lovely spread that I was rather proud of…creamy pesto pasta, meatballs, crab dip, pull chicken sandwiches with mambo sauce, rice and peas, rigatoni lasagna, tortillas with chipolet cilantro dip sauce, and dessert nachos…so now I am cheating and sharing an old recipe that is great for a tailgate…delicious

Buffalo Chicken Club Sandwich with Homemade Onion Rings

Ingredients

– 4 chicken breast cut in half and pounded thin. Cut again..each breast yields 4 pieces

–  2 cups of your favorite hotsauce

-1 stick of butter

– two tomatoes sliced

– lettuce

– 1 lb of  bacon slices (fry in advance)

– 16 provolone cheese

– 1 cup of mayonassie

– 1/2 cup blue cheese dressing

– 2 loaf of Italian Bread

– 2 red vidalia onions

-3 eggs

– 2 cups of all-purpose flour

– 3 cups of panko bread crumbs

-salt and pepper

– oil for frying

Directions

1. I start with the onion rings..using a mandolin slice onions thinly. Set up a dredging station, a bowl with the flour, a bowl with the eggs, and finally a bowl with the panko bread crumbs..Season each bowl with salt and pepper. Take onion slices through the dredging station starting with the flour, then eggs, then panko. Fry at 350 degrees (usually a medium setting) until golden brown. Drain on paper towel and season with salt when fried..

2. In large skillet (that can be place in the oven), mix butter and hot sauce and warm over medium heat, add chicken breast and saute for 4 to 5 minutes. Place skillet in a 350 degree oven for for an additional 6 to 7 minutes. For the last 2 minutes, place the oven to the broil setting, add a piece of provolone cheese to each piece of chicken and melt

3. Building the club..cut Italian bread into 1 inch slices and toast. Mix mayonnaise and blue cheese together. As club sandwiches are made with three slices of bread spread mixture on all three pieces of toasted bread. On the bottom piece of bread place chicken breast, 3 onion rings and bacon, add another piece of toasted bread, then add tomato and lettuce. Top with final piece of toast, add toothpicks to make cutting easier. Top with onion rings. Delicious

“The Heist” 

This is a newly created drink by LaTrese and myself because it will steal the hearts of Ciroc Vodka lovers…right LaTrese 🙂 Actually, our friend Cory made us the drink. I am adding the grenadine..

– 3 oz of Peach Flavored Ciroc

– 3 oz pineapple juice

– grenadine

– Ice

– High Ball Glass

Put the Ciroc and pineapple juice in glass and stir, add a splash of grenadine, then the ice..enjoy

Remember…..Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day!!!

