When I was a child, my father coached little league and my siblings played. One year, around the age of 8, my father told me I had to be on a team. Because I never played before, I was place on a “C” team which was equivalent to the Bad News Bears (minus the beer drinking and cigar smoking).  Even though baseball paralleled my favorite game kickball, there was one huge difference, I was scared to death of getting hit by the ball. For whatever reason, I couldn’t navigate the glove. It felt big and balky. The only thing I brought to the table for this sport; I could hit the ball and run fast. For all intense and purposes, I should have only been used as a designated hitter.  Sadly, they would not allow that. Dad believed children must be instructed on all aspects of the game; fielding the ball, catching a fly ball, sliding, bunting…so on and so forth. Certainly, they could find a niche for me. Well, they never found one. What I gained from that experience was an even greater fear of the baseball and the awareness that standing in the blazing sun in the outfield was a recipe for disaster and tears. After my pathetic display that summer, my father comprehended baseball was not my calling. He conceded I was “built” for other sports. What I realized was…sitting in the stands with some  peanuts, hot dogs, and sunflowers seeds had a much greater appeal to me. Baseball provides for a wonderful family experience. This year I managed to snag some tickets (last-minute) for the Orioles opening day back in April. Paige, Brooke, Madeline and I hit Camden Yards for the day!!!

Camden Yards…gorgeous facility

Someone is genius.. marketing to kids 🙂

  Perfect day…it was incredible

Game Day for the Orioles and the Ravens is always crazy around the Inner Harbor area in Baltimore. The girls and I opted to take the light rail commuter train which has a stop right by the stadium. Please take note we had no Orioles attire. My children felt this was some type of negligence on my part.  Their complaints fell on deaf ears..

Lots of “Pomp and Circumstance” on opening day!!

Royal treatment with the “Orange Carpet” introductions..fans cheering invigorated by the new season….no bitterness held over from last season

More formalities with this very cool fly over…

Looking for the strike…

Moving into position..

Getting some thigh into it…

Gaining the momentum….

And the release………. To be honest, I have no clue if it was a strike..trying to be a good photographer for you all

While people watching a.k.a being nosy, I observed lots of texting and beer drinking..

I went renegade and “snuck” the sunflower seeds into the stadium. That is not to say we didn’t have Brooke’s one and only choice at all ball park concessions…chicken fingers and fries with honey mustard..

And now some offense…..this is just how I look when I hold a bat

Stepping in…pretty sure my form is comparable 

And contact…..now my ability to hit a 95 mile per hour fast ball is a bit suspect 

A foul ball… this woman successfully caught the ball without getting a concussion or her sunglasses broken…kudos to her because I don’t have that luck

I wasn’t a complete Grinch. We did a drive by of the gift shop..

If you know Brooke, this selection is not a shock!!

As we were walking to the light rail, for our trip home.  I experienced a twinge of envy. So many people spending the day partying with their friends and simply being carefree as I have done so many times pre-motherhood and well post-motherhood too. However, I was jolted back to reality when Paige told me how awesome the day had been. There was no need for me to be envious….the day was awesome with my daughter’s and their best friend

Stadium Food is becoming more and more gourmet and fabulous, but here’s the reality of going to games with children..finger foods. With the kids, the other foods are not and I repeat are not an option. The “mess” potential is way to high…The recipe I have attached..I shared a few months ago, but I suggest the concessions people at Camden Yards and M&T Stadium take my lead on this one..There will be lots of happy fans!!!

 

Crab Melt Sandwiches with Remoulade Sauce

This is a game pleaser that is decadent!!! 

– 1 cup lump crab meat

– 1 8oz block of softened cream cheese

-1/4 cup mayonaisse

-old bay seasoning

-1 tsp Worcester Sauce

– white bread

– white American cheese slices

– eggs (3 to 4)

– milk (1 to 1/12 cups)

– butter

Directions

1. In sauce pan, cream cheese, crab meat, mayonaisse,  worchester sauce, a few

dashes of old bay seasoning over medium low heat. Heat through until texture is smooth and creamy.

2. Remove crust from approximately 20 slices of white bread. In shallow dish, whisk eggs and milk together as you would for french toast add a few dashes of old bay seasoning.

3. Preparing sandwiches, spread bread with crab mixture add one slice of American cheese. Put sandwich together and place into egg mixture. Flip. ( do not allow the bread in the mixture too long as it will become too wet)

4. Place in pre-heated (medium temperature) skillet with butter. Toast each side for 2-3 minutes. Remove from skillet. For additional crispness, place on baking sheet and put into the oven at 400 degrees for 2 minutes per side.

5. Allow sandwiches to rest for a minute and cut into quarters.

Remoulade Sauce (Glorified Thousand Island Dressing)

1/2 cup Ketcuph

1/2 cup mayonaisse

1 tbsp sweet relish

1 tsp hot sauce

Prepare in advance and chill!!!!!

Remember…..Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day?

