When I started the cooking shows and writing the blog, my only goal was a nationally televised show. Just like “I’ll Have Another” (best name ever for placing bets) I had my blinders on. However, as the year has gone by and the response to “Cooking With The Pros” has been tremendous, I now know I can do so much more. With every sport I played, my confidence was raised as a result of “Just Doing It”. Idly sitting by and watching a game, talking about what you would or could do, simply makes you a Monday Morning Quarterback. “Just Do It”. A few years ago, someone told me, “Practice Makes Permanent”. This is not to say hitting the track each morning equates to Jen the Olympian, but it does mean I am rewiring my brain. ( FYI, I am not hitting the track each morning. That is a hypothetical). If you feel passion about anything in life, you become euphoric and driven. Driven is what I have become.  Now that television, radio, cooking classes, catering, and cookbooks are all in my bag of tricks, my message to you…. again.. would be “Just Do It”. My cookbook is in the works, I am teaching cooking classes this summer, and have started to cater on top of the television, radio, and blogging. I am not a motivational speaker, I leave that to my friend Lee Rubin author of Win. When I get nervous, Lee tells me “Do it like you’re running your best race”. What do you have to lose by leaving everything on the track? Running your best race means you leave it all out there. There will be wins and loses in life,  but you can only win if you are actually in the game you want to play. Don’t be afraid to extend your dreams or visions. Rejection or loss is nothing compared to the other option of not even trying. Just Do It!!

I was recently a guest on The Artie Clear Show. Artie has a sports talk radio show out of Philadelphia. We talked about me getting out there and doing it!! 🙂 I was with Blair Thomas and Lee Rubin

Artie talked about “lite” cooking and this meal below fits the bill!!!

Grill Chicken with a tomatillo sauce, rice with the tomatillo sauce and black bean and corn salsa/salad…lite and yummy!!!

Grilled Chicken with tomatillo sauce

Preparing the “green” tomatillo sauce

This sauce is a traditional green chili sauce

7 tomatillos, husked and rinsed

2 poblano chiles, chopped

2 jalapeno chiles, chopped

 1 small red onion

3 cloves of garlic

 3 tablespoons of canola oil

 Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro

1 tablespoon honey

1. Pre heat oven to 400 degrees

 2. Toss the tomatillos, poblanos, jalapenos, onion, and garlic in oil on a baking sheet and season with salt and pepper.  Roast until vegetables are golden brown 20-30 minutes. Cool slightly

3. Transfer to food processor and process with the cilantro, adding a little water if needed to adjust consistency , until pureed. Season with the honey and additional salt and pepper if needed. The sauce can be made one day in advance.

Preparing Chicken

2 Chicken Breasts- butterflied and quartered pounded thin. Season with salt and pepper.

1. In ziplock bag, place chicken pieces and half of the tomatillo sauce. Allow chicken to marinade for at least 2 hours.

2. On indoor or outdoor grill, over medium heat grill chicken about 4 minutes per side

Rice with tomatillo sauce

1 1/2 cups of rice

3 cups of water

1/2 cup of tomatillo sauce

2 tablespoons of olive oil

1 tablespoon (Goya Adobo Seasoning Salt)

1. Put all ingredients in a medium sized pot. Bring to a boil for 1 minute, reduce heat to a medium low and cover with lid. Cook for 30 minutes. Do not take the lid off!!!

Black Bean Corn Salsa

1 14oz can of black beans

1 14oz can corn

1 red pepper chopped

1 jalapeno chopped

1/2 cup cilantro

juice of one lime

salt and pepper

1. Strain black beans and rinse off liquid.

2. Mix all ingredients together and toss. The salsa is best if it sets at least for 24 hours.

Great recipes to try!!! Yes the are easy!!

Remember..Just Do It and Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day!!

