As a child, I attended my share of sports camps, but the Cathy Rush Basketball Camp at Delaware Valley College was my favorite of all. If my memory serves me well (which is suspect at times), it was the staff that made my experience so wonderful. The coaches gave me a sense of confidence that I had I never felt before. Compliments came my way left and right and I was playing like Cheryl Miller during my time there. Why? They had me believing in myself.  Shyness and lack of self-confidence had hindered me in this sport. For whatever reason, I couldn’t get into the same zone as when running a race.  It was clear to my family and friends I was talented, but I rarely played up to my ability. After attending the camp, and working with exceptional players and coaches, my game improved. I never became a basketball “star”, but my confidence was much improved. The experience was a true testament to the true power of a summer camp.

Shawn Springs Football Camp in Ashburn, Virgina

http://www.ayfl.org/

This week I will be returning to summer camp. A friend and fellow Penn Stater, Troy Cromwell, asked me to cater an event at “The AYFL Shawn Springs Football Camp” in Ashburn, VA. Troy is the President of this independent league and founder of the camp. As a fan of my blog and recipes, Troy invited me down to whip up a meal for the coaches and their wives. As we discussed the importance of the camp, Troy shared a list of exceptional athletes that will coach the children. Obviously, Troy starts with his friends and teammates from PSU. So here goes…Keith Goganious, Andre CollinsBlair Thomas, and well me (I am a PSU family member). Then you have… Stan Clayton, Jason Belser, Lamar Thomas, Delbert Cowsette, Stanley Jackson, and the camp’s name sake Shawn Springs coupled with many of the local high school coaches!!!! Wow!! How lucky are these kids to have this level of instruction? I can only imagine that their experience would be similar to mine at Cathy Rush. As I prep for the dinner, I am gonna hit the camp take some pictures and let you know how it goes.

I promised Troy I would prepare the recipes he always sees on the blog….He did request some light dishes and I am doing my best!! But like an savvy “chef”, when entertaining new people, work with your “Go To” dishes. My mother raised no fool!!

I know you saw this a few weeks back, but I promised this one!!! This is as lite as I get!! No worries my friends, I have a great menu prepared for the party.

Grill Chicken with a tomatillo sauce, rice with the tomatillo sauce and black bean and corn salsa/salad…lite and yummy!!!

Grilled Chicken with tomatillo sauce

Preparing the “green” tomatillo sauce

This sauce is a traditional green chili sauce

7 tomatillos, husked and rinsed

2 poblano chiles, chopped

2 jalapeno chiles, chopped

 1 small red onion

3 cloves of garlic

 3 tablespoons of canola oil

 Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro

1 tablespoon honey

1. Pre heat oven to 400 degrees

 2. Toss the tomatillos, poblanos, jalapenos, onion, and garlic in oil on a baking sheet and season with salt and pepper.  Roast until vegetables are golden brown 20-30 minutes. Cool slightly

3. Transfer to food processor and process with the cilantro, adding a little water if needed to adjust consistency , until pureed. Season with the honey and additional salt and pepper if needed. The sauce can be made one day in advance.

Preparing Chicken

2 Chicken Breasts- butterflied and quartered pounded thin. Season with salt and pepper.

1. In ziplock bag, place chicken pieces and half of the tomatillo sauce. Allow chicken to marinade for at least 2 hours.

2. On indoor or outdoor grill, over medium heat grill chicken about 4 minutes per side

Rice with tomatillo sauce

1 1/2 cups of rice

3 cups of water

1/2 cup of tomatillo sauce

2 tablespoons of olive oil

1 tablespoon (Goya Adobo Seasoning Salt)

1. Put all ingredients in a medium-sized pot. Bring to a boil for 1 minute, reduce heat to a medium low and cover with lid. Cook for 30 minutes. Do not take the lid off!!!

Black Bean Corn Salsa

1 14oz can of black beans

1 14oz can corn

1 red pepper chopped

1 yellow or orange pepper chopped

1 red onion chopped

1 jalapeno chopped

1/2 cup cilantro

juice of one lime

1/4 cup olive oil

salt and pepper

1. Strain black beans and rinse off liquid.

2. Mix all ingredients together and toss. The salsa is best if it sets at least for 24 hours.

Great recipes to try!!! Yes the are easy!!

Remember..Just Do It and Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day!!

