Only a great and loving friend would travel to Long Island, N.Y. as the National Weather Channel is warning the Northeast Seaboard to stock up on batteries, water, flashlights, generators because “Hurricane Sandy” is on it’s way…. Not rain, nor snow, nor sleet,nor driving tropical winds stopped me from my mission to cover Leslie’s accomplishments while competing in  “Urbanathlon 2012”.  

What an awesome cover for Men’s Health Magazine!!!

  A family that travels together, stays together…Aunt Shelly, Brooke, Alyssa, Paige, and Kiana…. all paying tribute to Usain Bolt..this was  a really cool feature at the Urbanathlon this year!!

My girl Leslie and all of her friends from Sanctuary Cross Fit Gym and Lose-N-Tone were all super excited to compete in this event which involves running about 10 miles and a collection of obstacles. Yes… ask yourself “What is wrong with them at 6:30 am?”

 The DJ was on point!  Got me going early in the morning…

Some exercise guru getting the party started!!!

Ahhhh…the masses preparing for the task at hand…..By this point in our morning, Shelly and I had hit rock bottom on the coffee and that was not a good look considering we had our posse of 6 kids..

During the warm-up, I notice David Zinczenko standing nearby! David  is the Editor and Chief of Men’s Health Magazine as well as the author of several books. As any good parent, I forced the children to take this picture. They were all looking at me like “Who the heck is he?”…I filled them in after the fact!! 

One of David’s Books…..

Headed to the start…I was looking for Lisa, the first leg of Leslie’s relay team…but she was no were to be found in the crowd!

However, I did find my friends Ann and Davon they were in wave 1 the “Elite Group”…the best part is Ann has no clue how she ended up in this group!!! Go Ann Get Busy…..

So we all know the game Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon… at the start line I was roaming  around taking pictures and I noticed my daughter Paige chatting with someone. Again as any good parent,  I went over to enquirer who this person was. Well low and behold it was one of her former teachers with a group of teachers from her school. Yes, we live in Pennsylvania. OMG…in this massive crowd Paige finds a former teacher.   I’m not sure if this scenario qualifies for the game, but it was a good lead in 🙂

 

Me and Billy Bush!!! 

Because the Urbanathlon is truly a big deal considering this event is hosted in several cities around the country, you know it will bring some big names…Billy Bush is the host of Access Hollywood,has a radio show, and apparently was quite the athlete in college.  Billy was the MC for the day…I waited others out for my photo op!! Billy is quite handsome in person 🙂 

One of the best parts of the Urbanathlon is the fact that people are so amped up and just want to have fun!! Look at at little Luigi…Mario was with him!!

One of the challenges in the race….running the steps of Citi Field..or walk

Climbing some barrier…….

Crawling under cars!!!

Look how cute!! “When’s the dog wave coming through” 

Bus climbing….my guy Davon rock’n his awesome pink socks….

Running over cabs……straight out of a some action movie

And the finish…….can I get an Amen!!! 

Any good race has games…clearly I am perplexed by the question…

Any good race has free stuff…..

Any good race has a beer station……this allowed Aunt Shelly and I get over coffee deficit…

And any good race has fun stuff to keep the kids entertained….

Finally Aunt Shelly and I caught up with Lisa the first leg of Leslie’s relay team..she was rather happy to have completed her portion of the race! 

Aunt Leslie…..at the end!! Sporting  her medal!!! Not only was this Urbanathlon weekend, but Aunt Leslie’s 39th birthday weekend as well!!!! 

At the end of the race Ann decided she should have had a PBJ sandwich midway through….so today’s recipe is for Ann..Good Job ladies!!

What a good looking group!!!! Congrats!!!

PB&J Bites

As a child,  I wasn’t really a big fan of Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches..however this little bite I created is outstanding!!!

Ingredients

– 2 rolls of seamless crescent sheets ( Pillsbury)

– block (8 oz)  of softened cream cheese.

– 1 cup strawberry jelly (divided 1/2)

– 1/2 cup peanut butter

-1 cup confectioners sugar

– 1/4 cup milk (possibly more to get necessary texture for peanut butter glaze)

Directions

1. Pre-heat oven 350 degrees

2. In medium sized mixing bowl, cream together softened cream cheese and 1/2 cup strawberry jelly.

3. Unroll crescent dough, using rolling pin spread dough to uniform rectangle.

4. Spread cream cheese mixture on dough leaving a 1/2 inch boarder on the dough. If not the mixture will come out went rolling.

5. On the long side of the dough, begin rolling into a log.

6. Once rolled, pat to tighten the log.

7. Repeat and make a second log.

8. Place on a parchment paper lined baking sheet.

9. Put into the refrigerator for 10-15 minutes.

10. Remove and cut into medallions. Each log should produce 12.

11. Bake at 350 degrees for 11-12 minutes.

12. Peanut butter glaze. Mix peanut butter, confections sugar, and mix. This mixture should be smooth and not thick.

13. Once the rounds are cooled, dip into glaze. Swirl and let excess run off.  Top with some of the remaining cream cheese mixture and add a small dollop of jelly.

Hot darn folks…………I hope Ann loves these bites!! I doubt she can take them to the race..Sorry Sister!

Remember…Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day???

