Even though many of my friends participated in local “Turkey Trots”, I opted for the gym around 7:30 this morning.  A Thanksgiving Day workout merely allows me to feel better about my excessive food and drink intake while watching sports throughout the course of my day.  Due to family obligations this year, my mother had to host our meal at 12:00.  Lucky for you our early meal allowed me plenty of time to create my “Thanksgiving Leftover Recipes” straight from my Mother’s table to you!!!!

Turkey Salad with Sweet Potato Mayonnaise, Walnuts, and Dried Cranberries

So my quandary was putting a twist on my turkey salad.  At dinner,  I had the epiphany to use candied sweet potatoes with mayo as the dressing. It is rather tasty……

Ingredients

– 2 cups turkey (white and dark meat)

– cup mayonnaise

– juice of  half a lemon

– a pinch of salt and pepper

-1/2-2/3  cup candied sweet potatoes with syrup

– 1/2 cup walnuts chopped

– 1/2 cup dried cranberries

– 1/2 cup chopped celery

Directions

1. In food processor mix; mayonnaise, sweet potato, lemon juice, salt, and pepper.

2. In medium sized bowl mix together turkey, walnuts, cranberries, and celery.

3. Fold dressing into mixture.

4. Place in refrigerator and allow to chill for at least 30 minutes.

5. Serve on a bed of lettuce, in a pita, crackers, or on some leftover dinner rolls.

Potato-Corn- Cheese Croquettes with Spicy Sour Cream 

Of course I had to fry something…..

Ingredients

– 2 cups of  mashed potatoes

– 1/2  to 2/3 cup of  sweet corn

– 1/2 cup mild cheddar cheese

– 2 cups of flour

– 2 eggs whisked

– 3 cups Italian Panko bread crumbs

– 2 cups sour cream

– 2 tbsp Sriracha hot chili sauce

– vegetable oil for frying

Directions

1. In large bowl mix…mashed potatoes, corn, and cheese.  Using large tablespoon, make a bowl of the mixture and flatten into patties.

2. Pre-heat oil in frying pan to 350 degrees

3. Prepare dredging station…a bowl of flour, bowl of whisked eggs, and a bowl of panko bread crumbs.

4.  Fry croquettes…put patties in flour, then egg, then panko.  Fry patties in vegetable oil heated to 350 degrees.

5. Fry until both sides are golden brown. Remove from oil, place on paper towel,  and lightly salt immediately.

6. Serve with sour cream-Sriracha mixture (blend the two together)

Green Bean Casserole and Turkey “Hot Pocket”

When I first started teaching, I had a friend who ate “Hot Pockets” everyday for lunch. Over time I learned the many varieties available……this is my twist!!

Ingredients

–  green bean casserole

– shredded turkey

– 1/2 cup mild cheddar cheese

– seamless crescent sheets

– 2 whisked eggs

– dried oregano

Directions

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees

2. Roll out crescent sheets and cut into six even pieces.

3. In the middle of each piece, place a spoonful of green bean casserole, some pulled turkey, and a pinch of cheese. Match the edges of the dough and crimp the edges with a fork to seal the dough. Brush with egg wash. Sprinkle oregano

4. Place all pockets on a baking sheet lined with with parchment paper.

5. Bake in oven for 8-10 minutes!!!

After a great Thanksgiving Day with my family and extra cooking  I put in for my fan..I now found it time to retire to the couch and watch the remainder of football for the day….Redskins are up at this point…we shall see…Happy Thanksgiving All….

Remember..Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day???

