CWTP Logo PNG

December brings on the start of college bowl games. Yes, I am disappointed that I wont see my Nittany Lions, but I do enjoy all the excitement that comes  this time of year in the world of college football.  Last weekend,  my girlfriends and I were in “shock and awe” over the number of games that are up for grabs.  There are 35 games….35! What happened to the days of the Sugar Bowl, The Rose Bowl, The Fiesta Bowl, The Orange Bowl, The Cotton Bowl and that was about it.. that is what I remember from my childhood. Non the less, our day started with the “Gildan New Mexico Bowl”. A real nail biter… Arizona defeated Nevada 49-48..great game

Gildan New Mexico Bowl

 After that game, we enjoyed the “Famous Idaho Potato Bowl”…famous potatoes! I thought Mr. Potato Head had that title. At any rate, we did continue our afternoon of bowl games.  While watching the “Famous Idaho Potato Bowl”, in which The University of Toledo didn’t fare so well (I was sad as I have many friends in Toledo), I was whipping up my holiday dinner to share on the blog and for my bowl game party guests.

Famous Idaho

Please look at this logo.. a football made into a baked potato….I love it!!!

What came out of this great afternoon of food, family, and friends… “Jen’s Famous Garlic Potato Gratin”. As a person who always takes exceptional pride in the ability to make great mashed potatoes, this dish has brought my bragging rights to a whole new level!!! Check out the bowl game schedule as we keep it moving through the holidays and my awesome Christmas Day Menu or any holiday feast…..

http://espn.go.com/college-football/bowls

Even though I prepared a delicious London Broil for my friends, these potatoes were by far the biggest hit..Now not so light on the waistline,  but they are delicious. Heck it’s the holidays..it’s ok to splurge!!

Garlic Mashed Potato Gratin

potato gratin

Garlic Mashed Potato Gratin

Ingredients

– 5 lbs white “Idaho” potatoes

– 12 cloves of garlic

– 1 1/2 cups heavy cream

– 1 cup of grated parmesan cheese

– 4 oz softened cream cheese

– 1 stick of butter

– salt/pepper

Directions

1. Peel and chop potatoes into cubes. Peel cloves of garlic. Put potatoes and garlic into a large stock pot filled with cold water lightly salted.

2. Bring to a boil and cook until tender when poked with a fork.

3. While potatoes are cooking, in a small sauce pan combine heavy cream and parmesan cheese. Melt cheese, bring to a boil. and then reduce to low heat.

4. When potatoes are tender, drain off water in colander. Make sure potatoes and garlic are completely drain and transfer to a large mixing bowl or back to stock pot.

5. Using a hand held blender, mix potatoes/garlic with softened cream cheese and half a stick of butter. Lightly season with salt and pepper. Once the cream cheese and butter are incorporated, add heavy cream mixture and blend until smooth and creamy.

6. Grease large baking dish with softened butter, spread potato mixture into the dish. Place in a pre-heated 350 oven and bake for 30 minutes.

My London Broil…

london broil

This is a quick and elegant meat to prepare…

Garlic Green Beans 

garlic green beans

Super easy and a crowd pleaser….

No meal is complete without some warm bread and “Garlic-Parmesan Knots” will hit the spot

garlic-knots

 Sweet Potato Mousse Parfaits…..

sweet potatoe mousse par 023

Our sweet treat to end a delicious meal….

Enjoy the bowl games and the season!!! 

Remember..Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day???

