CWTP Logo PNG

A few years ago, I was invited to play on an indoor soccer team. Even though I  never played soccer (I was a field hockey girl),  I figured I’d give it a try. All I had to offer was I could run. Bottom line, I was not a quick learn on the “ball” skills of “Futbol”.  What I can tell you, I loved the fast pace of the game.  So when I did my last cooking show with Mike Deasel and David Bascome of the Baltimore Blast, I didn’t share my “soccer” experience. We really just chatted it up about food, the team, David’s home land of Bermuda, and his non-profit.  The week after we taped our show Paige, Brooke, and I headed to Baltimore for a game. It was great!!!!!

Baltimore Blast Game 002

The girls and I arrived just on time for the pre-game!!! The Blast went up against The Rochester Lancers

Baltimore Blast Game 012

After the warm-up,  the players headed to their “box”..Mike Deasel right there in the middle

Baltimore Blast Game 034

I love this game…..these guys were shoving and pushing….

Baltimore Blast Game 037

People should take up soccer as a New Years weight loss resolution…

Baltimore Blast Game 055

See this is where I fell short in my efforts to play soccer…

Baltimore Blast Game 063

And a score….a round of “high fives”

Baltimore Blast Game 075

 I really don’t know what this official was doing…I was intrigued by his position!! He was perfectly place to lead the the “Macarena”

Baltimore Blast Game 074

David Bascome Blast Assistant Coach to the far right ..so debonair 

Baltimore Blast Game 083

What I observed throughout the game was David’s intensity….

Baltimore Blast Game 084

Non-stop note taking….

Baltimore Blast Game 085

With a very clear focus on the players………..

Baltimore Blast Game 103

All the cool banners……

Baltimore Blast Game 112

The officials were all over the field….

Baltimore Blast Game 152

Between quarters the fans were given a chance to win some prizes..

Baltimore Blast Game 230

Mike warming up……

Baltimore Blast Game 232

Keeping the blood flowing….

Baltimore Blast Game 280

One of the best parts of the game….Lucio Gonzago scored and watch what happened…..

Baltimore Blast Game 281

Ran up into the stands….

Baltimore Blast Game 283

Got a hug……

Baltimore Blast Game 286

Made his way back down….

Baltimore Blast Game 287

Now that was some excitement……..

Baltimore Blast Game 294

The lovely cheerleaders did their part to keep the crowd excited!!

Baltimore Blast Game 326

This was the score as the girls and I were getting ready to head home…..sometimes an 8 year old can only hang so long…we had so much fun and a game is family friendly…The final score was 23-12

Pumpkin Funnel Cake with Cream Cheese Dip

Funnel Cake 2 003

So when we were at the game, Brooke went with her standard “Chicken Strips and Fries” but my girl Paige went with a funnel cake. I figured I’d go to my “county fair roots” and make a Pumpkin Funnel Cake…..

Ingredients

  • 1 quart oil for frying
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 1 cup milk
  • 3/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar mixed + 1 tsp cinnamon for dusting

Instructions

  1. Place the oil in a large pot over medium heat.
  2. Meanwhile, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, egg, brown sugar, pumpkin puree (or 100% pure pumpkin), milk, and pumpkin pie spice until a smooth batter forms.
  3. Mix together the powdered sugar and cinnamon. Set aside.
  4. Check oil– if you have a thermometer, it should be around 375º. If you don’t have a thermometer, flick a couple of water droplets in the oil. It should bubble, but not pop out of the pan.
  5. Scoop about 1/2 cup (it should be a little less than 1/2 cup, since a lot of it will stick to the measuring cup) into a gallon sized ziptop bag.
  6. Snip off a small corner of the bag and pipe the batter into the hot oil in a circular pattern. Let fry for a few seconds, until golden brown on the bottom, and then turn over (using a fork or tongs). Let fry for a few more seconds until golden brown.
  7. Remove the funnel cake with a fork or tongs and place on a plate lined with paper towels. Dust with the cinnamon powdered sugar and enjoy warm!
  8. Repeat process with remaining batter (I was able to use the same bag for all of the batter by simply placing the bag in a shallow bowl. When I spooned the batter into the bag opening, it didn’t ooze out of the hole, because the bag is sort of laying on itself. Just carefully pick it up, pinching the corner with the hole until you’re ready to pipe it into the oil.)

Cream Cheese Dip

Ingredients

4 oz softened cream cheese

2 cups confectioner sugar

1/2  cup of milk

1 tsp Vanilla

Directions

1. Put all ingredients in large bowl and mix. Start on low speed to not “cover” yourself with the confectioner sugar. Blend until smooth.

Give this great fair treat a try…..

Remember….Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day???

Also Check out my show with David and Mike…..

Click on the link…….

baltimore blast 011

