CWTP Logo PNG

March has come in like a lamb, the brackets are coming down the pike, and Women’s History Month is a time to acknowledge the females who have paved the way for me.  Robin Roberts is certainly one of the women who I have admired for years. Even though Robin has a very strong following as one of the hosts on  “Good Morning America”, I loved Robin as a host on ESPN. In the mid 90’s,  I was truly upset I didn’t pursue a degree in communications or broadcast. My disappointment was all based on the fact I wasn’t working at ESPN and I should have been sitting beside Robin and talking sports.  Her tenure on ESPN was ground breaking.  Unlike Jane Kennedy,  Robin was on daily and a lead point.  Robin inspires me through her grace, class, and sophistication. Cancer has been Robin’s battle over the last few years of her life, but I want to focus on the fact that she returned to “Good Morning America” on February 20th. She is a survivor and amazing….let’s focus on the positive!! Robin is a pioneer in sports media!!!

Robin picture

I don’t have Robin on speed dial (sadly), but I did research her favorite foods. Not quite sure this is Robin’s favorite, but there was a show in which she shared “Potato Chip Crusted Chicken”…So I have recreated the chicken with my mambo sauce and my babies wanted some smashed potatoes….

Robin’s Potato Chip Crusted Chicken with Jen’s Mambo Sauce….

robin roberts 007

Ok…..here’s the deal, I followed Robin’s recipe today and baked this chicken. Honestly, I want to fry, however my girls really enjoyed the texture of the chips and loved it with my mambo sauce….As you read the recipe,  add some garlic salt to the ground up chips! 

• Four 6- to 8-ounce chicken cutlets (you can use also use chicken breasts or chicken thighs with bones, if desired) • 6 ounces potato chips • 1 clove garlic, minced • 4 tablespoons of butter • 1/4 tsp. ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.

Melt butter in a small pot. Add garlic to it and let cool slightly. Crumble potato chips in food processor by pulsing for 30 seconds, or place paper towel over chips and roll back snd forth with a rolling pin until chips resemble crumbs. Mix in black pepper. You will have 1 1/2cups. Place crumbs on a large plate.

Cover a large baking sheet with aluminum foil. Dip one chicken cutlet onto butter garlic mixture. Place cutlet on potato chip crumbs and press down slightly to insure crumbs stick. Turn cutlet over and repeat on other side. Place on prepared baking pan. Repeat procedure for remaining 3 cutlets.

Place in preheated oven and bake for 12-15 minutes (The cooking time for breasts & thighs with bones is 30 to 40 minutes). Make sure cutlets are cooked through, still tender and that the topping is golden brown. Serve with mashed potatoes. Serves 4

Mambo Sauce

1 cup ketchup ( I use Heinz)

1 cup sugar

4 tbsp water

5 tbsp white vinegar

1 tbsp Spanish paprika

 2 tbsp hot sauce (I use Crystal)

2 tbsp of Srirach Chili sauce

Directions

Whisk all ingredients together and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer for at least 30 minutes. The longer the better 🙂

Remember….Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day!!!! 

