CWTP Logo PNG

Via nature, we all have the capacity to learn a language. Via nurture, we learn the language(s) taught to us. If you are taught the language of empathy, compassion, and kindness, you will be able to speak it. Many of the athletes at the Ed Block Courage Awards speak that language. The athletes spoke the language loud and clear to the children at the Chick Webb Recreation Center in Baltimore.

Ed Block 2013 064

Children at the Chick Webb Center waiting on the Ed Block Award recipients…..patience is a virtue

Ed Block 2013 080

Adam “Pacman” Jones of the Cincinnati Bengals consoling a little one……….

Ed Block 2013 076

An attentive crowd as mayor Stephanie Rawlings-Blake gave her address

Ed Block 2013 083

The children were torn. Who was more interesting; the mayor or the football players. They didn’t know which way to look….

Ed Block 2013 094

Tracey Estes of the Chick Webb Center…super nice lady who helped me get the cooking demo set-up for the day 🙂 

Ed Block 2013 055

Prepping for the cooking demonstration….chicken and cheese quesadillas with black bean corn salsa and chipotle sour cream

Ed Block 2013 098

Jahvid Best of the Detroit Lions  was my first sous chef…he manned the George Foreman Grill…..

Ed Block 2013 100

Platting the food for the guests……

Ed Block 2013 101

Jahvid and I received rave reviews about our treats….

Ed Block 2013 106

The second dish is my modified “Pittsburgh Steak Salad”…Pacman Jones taking a sample….he was so excited to have a taste;the bus was waiting on him

Ed Block 2013 108

Chick Webb staff members lining up for a quick lunch….

Ed Block 2013 116

Another fabulous day and the demonstration was a blast….I hope all enjoyed!! Clean up I absolutely the best part of my demos 🙂 

Philly Cheese Steak Omelette on Italian Roll

While cooking with Jahvid, I found out his favorite thing to make is an omelette and apparently his favorite food to eat is an omelette.  Jahvid is a west coast guy so I went east coast with the breakfast!!

Omlette 001

First I want to say, this might not be the most enticing food photo I’ve ever taken, but I will say this was fabulous to eat!!!! Eggs aren’t the most photogenic food 🙂

So yes this is I guess one would say a glorified egg sandwich, but I doesn’t have to be serve on the roll.  As you can see, the eggs are prepared omelette style and made into a sandwich.  Because I’m feeding small people at my house, I make smaller omelettes which can easily be thrown on a roll.

Ingredients

For 3 small omelettes

– 6 eggs

– milk

– 5 slices of provolone cheese or white american

– minute steaks (steak’ms) 1 per small omelette

– 1 small vidalia onion sliced thin

– 1 small green pepper sliced thin

– 1 small red pepper sliced thin

– butter

– olive oil

– salt and pepper

-3 6 inch Italian hoagie rolls

Directions

1. Preparing onions and peppers, in a medium saute pan heat some butter and olive oil over medium heat. Add peppers and onions until they are tender. Onions should be translucent.

2. After onions and peppers are sauteed, remove from pan.  Using same saute pan, place in minute steaks and brown.

3. In a small saute pan, melt a tbsp of butter over medium heat.

4. While butter is melting, in a small bowl whisk 2 eggs and about 2 tbsp of milk ( I really just eyeball it). Add salt and pepper. I also use some red pepper flake in mine.

5. When pan is heated, slowly pour the egg mixture in. Do Not Stir…allow eggs to cook for up to a minute or until the bottom settles.

6. Using a heat resistant spatula, gently push one edge of the omelette toward the center of the pan, while tilting the pan allowing the still liquid egg to flow underneath. Continue to do this with other edges until no liquid is left.

7.  Gently flip and layer you omelette with the cheese ( I cut up my slices so they will melt more quickly), minute steak, and some of the onion/pepper mixture. Spread ingredients down the middle of the omelette. Using spatula, fold one edge of the omelette over the middle and then the other covering the ingredients.

8. Quickly flip the omelette to cook other side and gently remove from the pan.

9. While cooking the omelette, cut the Italian roll and butter. I toast then on a stove top griddle. You could also place them under a broiler. Just keep an eye on them so as not to burn.

10. After everything is complete, place omelette on Italian roll. You could also top the omelette with some onions and peppers for a true Philly Cheese Steak affect. They are not on my photo because my girls are not fans of the onions and peppers. I don’t just take pictures of the food. My kids really do eat my handy work 🙂

Remember….Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day??

