CWTP Logo PNG

The NFL Draft  has all the makings of a good suspense movie. 6th Sense being my personal favorite.

By definition….

suspense-  a feeling of pleasurable fascination and excitement mixed with apprehension, tension, and anxiety developed from an unpredictable, mysterious and rousing source of entertainment.

See what I mean..have you ever watched people watching the draft. Good Lord if that definition doesn’t sum up that little emotional roller coaster fans experience,  I don’t know what does. As I’ve ponder what would be necessary for a good draft “Parte” for my friends, this is the list I have developed.

Draft Day Necessities

1. A booklet of the potential top picks and their stats. Having a complete list of the top picks  is a great gift for your guests, I’m not the one to be that organized,  but I have some friends that would love this job. So, as I was reading my “Sports Illustrated ” this week, I came across my favorite pick for the 2013 Draft

Barkevious Mingo …. linebacker out of LSU

Barkevious-Mingo

I don’t care about his stats and the fact he’s probably going in top ten, it’s the name…. I love it!!!! Apparently, those close to him call him KeKe.. Good Luck KeKe!!

2. A large piece of “butcher paper” to list all of the teams and their picks as the draft progresses. Just in case there is some memory loss as the draft moves forward.  If not a  large piece of paper, perhaps an easel.

easle

This is way more professional than the super cool “crayola easel” we would use at my house…..a nice purchase especially if you host a fantasy football draft. If nothing else,  you could post a “quote of the day” for your family…

3. A punching bag……Inevitably, someone at the party is gonna be exceptionally upset about the pick or the fact that another team got the guy they wanted!!! So, I recommend the old school “Kiddie Punching  Bags”

boxing

 I have no clue why someone would want to punch a dolphin…we had an “Incredible Hulk” punching bag when I was a kid, but this is a cool and fun option for those with a short fuse…:) 

4. A legal pad…..For all fantasy football folks, you must stay on top of the stats and what each guy can bring to the table for your chances of “reigning supreme”  next year at the fantasy football draft!!! Who doesn’t like being the smarty pants at the party??? 

legal pad

Say no to the loose leaf paper and yes to the  legal pad….

5. Last but not least…..and what I do best

Yes… snacks and drinks….

For the 2013 draft,  I am promoting…drum roll please….. “sliders”.  I love the simplicity of these little bites. When you scale it down, your guests can sample everything, and in return not feel guilty. Actually that’s a lie, but smaller is cooler in my opinion. 

Sliders Extraordinaire

Chicken Caesar Sliders

 sliders 019

This is cool twist on Chicken Caesar Salad….

Ingredients

– 1 lbs of ground chicken

– 2 tbsp Caesar dressing

– 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

– 1/4 breadcrumbs

– 1 tsp lemon zest

– salt and pepper

– dinner rolls

– melted butter

Directions 

1. Mix chicken, Caesar dressing, Parmesan cheese, breadcrumb, lemon zest, and dash of salt/pepper. Form into small “burgers”.

2. Pre-heat stove top grill over medium and butter,  grill burgers for for 5 minutes per side.Pre-heat stove top grill over medium and butter,  grill burgers for for 5 minutes per side.

3. While sliders are cooking, cut dinner rolls and place on a flat top griddle to brown  and chop romaine lettuce.

4. Platting…brush each browned dinner roll with some Caesar dressing. Place lettuce leaves, and add burger. I also brush the top of my buns with butter before serving.

Southwest Slider

A delicious burger, mix of sirloin and chorizo topped with lettuce, a spicy mayo, and jalapenos….

sliders 031

My new favorite slider…..

Ingredients

– 1/2 lb ground sirlon

– 1/2 lb ground chorizo

– Sriracha

– Mayonnaise

– Ketchup

– Lettuce sliced very thin

– Pickled Jalapenos

– dinner rolls

– salt

– pepper

– chili powder

– melted butter

Directions

1. In a food processor and at room temperature,  blend sirloin and chorizo.  It’s important to make sure the meats have the same consistency.

2. Form meat into small balls, and shape into “burgers”.

3. Pre-heat stove top grill over medium and butter, sprinkle with salt and chili powder, and  grill burgers for for 5 minutes per side.

4. While grilling burgers, mix mayo, ketchup, and Sriracha in parts to your liking. This you must play with.

5. Thinly slice lettuce.  Cut dinner rolls, butter,  and place on a flat top griddle to brown. While browning, brush with melted butter, sprinkle with salt and chili powder as well.

6. Plate the burger with your mayo, jalapenos, and lettuce… delicious  )

Buffalo Chicken Sliders
– 3-4 chicken breast
– Anchor Wing Sauce
–  Wegmans shredded mozzarella cheese
– 2 cups of baby carrots
–  4 stalks of celery
– 1- 1 1/2 cups Wegmans blue cheese dressing
– Potato rolls (24)
-eggs
– dried ranch seasoning
Directions
 
Carrot/Celery slaw
In food processor, chop carrots and celery. Mix with blue cheese dressing and refrigerate for an hour. Not overnight.
Rolls
1. Cut entire “loaf” of potato rolls in half. Butter the “inside” parts of the rolls with butter. Brush the top part of the loaf with egg wash and sprinkle lightly with a packaged ranch dressing. Place bread on parchment paper lined baking sheet butter side down. Bake at 350 or until the tops of the egg wash topped rolls are golden brown. When complete, reassemble the “loaf” and pull buns apart for individual pieces.
Chicken
1. I butterfly chicken breast and pound thin to equal thickness. I cut the meat based on the size of the rolls. For potato rolls I try to get 8 cuts per breast.
2. Put chicken pieces in a ziplock bag and marinate with Anchor Wing Sauce or your favorite buffalo wing sauce. I try to marinate overnight.
3. I prepare the chicken on a stove top grill allowing 3-4 minutes per side.
4. After grilling, I dip back into a fresh bowl of wing sauce.
5. Place chicken on a baking sheet top with cheese and broil until cheese is melted.
Meatball Sliders With Shawn Springs
Please check out my other blogs to see some other amazing sliders 🙂
Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day???
