CWTP Logo PNG

Over the last month, I have run two 5k races.  The lead off race was with my friend Leslie in Flushing Meadows, New York and the other with my daughter Paige in York, Pennsylvania. Coupled with the fact, I am scheduled for a third one next week. Yes, I’m back on the circuit :).  After the run with Paige it hit me, there were 900 plus runners and hundreds of supports at the “Race Against Racism” in York, Pennsylvania and we had not been deterred by the recent violence in Boston. While we were running, I saw several people wearing t-shirts with the quote “We Love Our Boston Running Family”.  Interestingly enough, it didn’t even occur to me until I saw the t-shirts. How amazing!!!

Me and Leslie

Leslie and myself post race…..clearly I’m in good spirits. 

It’s the “runner’s high” a good release of endorphin 🙂 

Road races are a weekend staple in thousands of communities.  Whether it’s hosted as a fundraiser for a charity or by a running club for people to earn points in a series,  we love the races. If you have never attended a race, just go for the energy that surrounds the event. Back in the day, you would show up at a race, do your warm-up, runner your race, have your complimentary beer, and go home. Now races are a whole party scene. Live music or a great DJ to keep the runners and crowd excited. Often entertainment, the race in York had a local drill team perform. There are often bounce houses and other cool activities for the little kids. Massage tables and wellness tables. You get my point. It’s a big old party……

mommy and paige

My daughter kicked butt!! This was Paige’s first 5K 🙂

Even though I love the new party model for race day, what I love even more is the support shown by all runners.  Everyone supports one another while out on the course. Cheering each other on and giving words of encouragement when someone might need it the most. There is back rubbing and people who might even walk with someone to share a quick pep talk. Often a complete stranger. That’s what it’s all about. Not the the accomplishment of the distance, but the camaraderie.

With good reason, the large races held from this point forward, will have new security guidelines that didn’t exist for previous races.  But we can all rest assured,  people will keep on running.

Pesto Chicken Cheese-steak Sliders

chicken cheesesteak slider 020

As I continue to work on my cookbook, my current focus is sliders. So yes…. you will be inundated with sliders….

Ingredients 

– 2 boneless chicken breast

– garlic salt

– Dried Italian Seasoning

– olive oil

– butter

– prepared basil pesto

– Shredded mozzarella cheese

– Italian Sub Rolls

Directions

1. Preheat large skillet to a medium heat.

2. Slice chicken breast into chicken slivers ( very thin slices)

3. Season chicken with garlic salt and dried Italian seasoning.

4. Put chicken in skillet and cook for 7-10 minutes based on the width of the chicken.

5. Remove chicken from skillet, put in a medium sized bowl, add pesto, and toss.

6. Slice sub rolls. Put a generous amount of chicken and top with mozzarella cheese.

7. Heat broiler, place sandwiches on a baking sheet, and place under the broiler until the cheese is melted….

8. Cut into slider size pieces.

You could  to with a little marinara sauce as well. That was my epiphany for the day…

Have a great one and keep reading….and Remember

Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day…..

