CWTP Logo PNG

Female athletes have certainly been some of the most inspirational people in my life. Cheryl Miller, Jackie Joyner-Kearse, Wilma Ruldolph, Mary Decker-Slaney…I could go on and on. I watched them, read about them, and aspired to be like them. However, as great as these women are/were, there is no greater inspiration for me than my mother.  Even though mother isn’t an athlete and she never played any organized sport, she still managed to be an integral part in fostering my love of playing sports as well as being an avid sports fan.

It was the little things she did to develop my athleticism….  cool stuff like making us play outside from sunrise til sunset in the summer. Of course I was going to build up my stamina. Then there was the pushing of wheel barrows filled with dirt and carrying buckets full of water to care for our garden. Excellent strength and condition exercises. And let’s not forget, hanging out multiple loads of  laundry. Fabulous way to develop fine motor skills….

All jokes aside (even though all of the above really did happen) my mother busted her butt to make sure I got to every sports practice, game, camp, and all that goes with the development of me as an athlete. My mother never complained she was tired after working a full time job as a nurse, running her four children around to multiple events,  and then coming home to cook a full meal every night. She came to all of my games and took care of my injuries. Even after graduating from college when I began coaching, my mother would still come out to my meets to support me.  My mother is my biggest cheerleader constantly reminding me that I can achieve anything in every aspect of my life. I love you Mom and thank you 🙂

recital 001

Paige, Brooke, and their Nana…..This recipe is one of my favorites for a Mother’s Day Treat!!!

Chicken Parmesan Pizza

I call this a pizza because the chicken is pounded very thin and then the cheese, pasta, and sauce are placed on top….

Ingredients

– 2 boneless chicken breast

– 2 cups of Italian bread crumbs

– 2 cups of Panko bread crumbs

– 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

– 3 eggs whisked

– 2 cups of flour

-1/3 cup vegetable oil

– 1/4 cup butter

– 1 cup mozzarella cheese

– 1 lb cooked pasta (I used cut spaghetti by Barilla)

– 2 jars of favorite marinara sauce

-garlic powder

-Italian seasoning

Directions

1. Butterfly chicken breast..place breast into plastic ziplock bag and pound

flat. Do both breasts.

2. Create dredging station..in three separate pans first flour, then eggs, then

bread crumbs. Season flour and bread crumbs with garlic powered and dried

Italian seasonings. Season breast with salt and pepper. Place breast first in

the flour, then the egg, and then the bread crumbs (parmesan cheese should be mixed into the bread crumbs). Do both breasts..

3. In large skillet, heat vegetable oil and butter over medium heat. Place

chicken breast in skillet and fry for 4 minute on each side.

4. While frying chicken, prepare pasta according to the package directions

5. When both breasts are fried, place  into backing tray and top with

marinara sauce and mozzarella cheese. Place under the broiler for

1 to 2 minutes..Keep a close eye so as not to burn cheese.

6. Remove from oven and top with pasta in the center.  Add

more marinara sauce and mozzerella cheese. Place back under broiler.

7. Place on platter and serve!!!

Another reason to love this dish…. it serves a ton of people!!

Remember…..Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day!!!

