CWTP Logo PNG

A tragedy occurred this week, the NFL put a ban on pocketbooks inside stadiums. A purse the size of your hand is now what will be permitted. I understand the need for an increase in security measures at sporting events considering the tragedy at the Boston marathon. But sweet Pete….a purse the size of my hand. Please know I’m not getting diva fabulous on you, but some smart phones are larger than a clutch.  A poncho can’t fit in a bag that small. Interestingly enough, here are some of the other things that have been banned… seat cushions, fanny packs, camera bags, computer bags, diaper bags, and cinch bags. I did not see man bags on this list. Keep in mind what you can use for your belongs, a 12x12x6 clear one gallon freezer bag into the stadium.  Imagine entering any venue holding a ziplock bag.  It becomes an underarm clutch. That is sooooo.. not a good look for anyone.  The NFL is graciously selling clear bags online with the team logos. How convenient is that  I must say? All the games I’ve attended over the years, my bag was thoroughly searched. Not once could I smuggle my own beverages into a stadium 🙂  I am slightly annoyed by this change. This year for Mother’s Day “Mama Got A Brand New Bag”  large enough that I could carry two newborn children. Neglect that would be I am aware, but I want you to have a reference point.  I love the bags that can hold everything but the kitchen sink and now I must leave mine behind for a ziplock bag.  Here’s my suggestion to the NFL…increase training for security guards or the number of security guards to expedite the bag search process. There you have it….problem solved.

Earlier this week I was working on my “Queso dip with spicy beef”  to acknowledge the NBA playoffs.  The San Antonio Spurs with a great southwest appetizer…but also the Miami Heat because this dip brings it on!!!

Queso Dip and Spicy Beef with Corn Tortilla Strips

queso and spicy beef 042

Here is an amazing dip…throw in the spicy beef and some jalapenos and it’s a slam dunk…

Queso Dip and Spicy Beef

Ingredients

– 2 poblano peppers (chopped)

– 4 jalapeno peppers (chopped)

– 8 cloves of garlic (chopped)

– 2 red onions (chopped)

– olive oil

– 4 tbsp butter

– 4 tbsp flour

– 1 pint of heavy cream

– 1 1/2 cups shredded “tex-mex” cheese

– 2 tsp cumin

– 2 tsp cayenne pepper

– salt/pepper

– 1 can of Rotel  (drained)

 Spicy Beef 

( some of the sauteed peppers and onions will be used for the beef)

1 1/2 lbs of ground beef

– 2 tsp cayenne pepper

– 2 tbsp  seasoning salt

Tortilla Chips

– 2 packages of 8′ corn tortillas (yellow or white)

– vegetable oil

Directions 

1. Over medium skillet, heat olive oil and saute peppers and onion. Mid-way through the process, add the garlic.  While the sauteing vegetables, in another medium sized skillet, begin to brown beef. Add cayenne pepper and seasoning salt.

2. Once vegetables are translucent, transfer half to the beef that is browning and leave the remaining in skillet. Lower heat and add butter then flour, whisk to make a rue. Once the rue is golden brown, add the cheese, heavy wiping cream, cumin, cayenne, salt and pepper. Turn heat back up to a medium, and  whisk until mixture is creamy. At the very end, fold in can of Rotel. Reduce back to low and let simmer.

3. I typically prepare my tortilla chips a day in advance. Cut the tortillas in strips, and frying vegetable oil over a medium heat until crispy. Drain on a paper towel and season with salt and pepper.

4. I used separate bowls for this picture because I have one child that does not each cheese dips. Usually I put the queso in a large bowl and top with the meat as well as some pickled jalapenos. I adjust to the needs of my babies 🙂 We do actually eat this stuff 🙂

Here are two recipes I made with the leftover Queso Dip and Spicy Beef

Southwest Spaghetti 

recipe remake 002

Ingredients

– Leftover Queso Dip and Meat

– 1 lb of thin spaghetti

– 1/2 of black beans (drained and rinsed)

– 1/2 sweet corn

1/2-3/4 sour cream

– pickled jalapenos (optional)

Directions

1. Cook pasta by the directions on the package.

2. Mix Queso dip and meat together in a microwave safe dish.

Heat up.

3. When pasta has finished cooking, put in a large bowl and toss with the Queso dip. Gently fold in the black beans and corn. Serve on a large platter and top with sour cream. Mixing in the sour cream gives it another depth of richness.

Cheesy Spicy Beef Enchiladas 

recipe remake 023

Ingredients

– leftover Queso Dip and Spicy Beef

– flour tortillas (number would be based on amount leftover)

– jar of store bought salsa

– pickled jalapenos (optional)

Directions

1.  Either slightly microwave beef and cheese separately or allow to come to room temperature.

2. In the middle of tortilla spoon a “line” of beef and top with some cheese. Don’t put in too much as you wont be able to roll tightly.

3. Take one side of the tortilla and kind of  roll over as to “tuck” the meat under and continue to roll like a cigar. Place seam side down in baking dish. Continue making tortillas until dish is full or you run out of ingredients 🙂

4. Top with salsa and cheese. Bake in a 350 degree over for 30 minutes.

5. Top with jalapenos if you so desire….I love the spice Serve with some sour cream as well.

Remember…Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day????

What I do know….. I want my purse on game day!!!!

