CWTP Logo PNG

Today while driving my oldest  daughter Paige to camp, I could  not help but be grateful my baby was by my side for the drive. We talked about her summer thus far, what will school shopping look this year; translation how expensive, the orders she WILL be going to the non-mandatory boot camp for field hockey before preseason starts, and the fact that next year’s camp needs to be a sports camp. Today as we chatted,  I couldn’t express to her  enough how important she and her sister are to me. I felt overwhelmed with emotion.  Then the topic turned to me. Paige’s enthusiasm and support of her mother is unwavering. Even though she is turning 13 this Tuesday and at times tries to take Mama down with her charming middle school behavior ( and I do mean charming), my baby has my back. She talks non-stop about when your show is on such and such a channel, when the cookbook is publish, when you have line of products, and I could go on and on only as a 13 year old girl could. I will stop. This I can tell you. Paige and Brooke aren’t resilient and optimistic because they’ve seen me struggle as a single parent. They are resilient and optimistic because they know I believe in myself and our family. The road blocks over the years just taught me how to run the steeple chase. I learned fight and true responsibility when I had my children. If you have children, remember the gift that they are to us. Talk to them, teach them, get them involved, and cherish them.

Each morning I wake up and I’m grateful for a new day and I’m grateful I was blessed with these beautiful girls. 

first day 002

The first day of school last year. Everyone has grown about 3 to 4 inches since this photo…

Ultimate Italian Sandwich

One of Paige’s favorites

I don’t want to brag, but I will. This sandwich is off the hook!!! Please… if you try no other recipe…..this is the one! 

8 kaiser rolls

2 whisked eggs

garlic salt

Italian seasoning

2 lbs roasted deli turkey breast sliced thinly

2 lbs Capicola ham

1 lb Genoa salami sliced very thin

2 lbs provolone cheese

4 cups shredded lettuce

1 red onion slice thin

1 cup mayonnaise

1/2 cup red hots (jarred red peppers commonly found in Italian restaurants)

2/3 cup balsamic vinaigrette

Cut all kaiser rolls. Brush egg wash mixture on top part of roll sprinkle with garlic salt and Italian seasoning. Bake at 350 degrees for 6 minutes.  In medium sized bowl toss shredded lettuce with balsamic vinaigrette and refrigerate. In a small bowl, mix mayonnaise with jarred red peppers and refrigerate. Do about 30 minutes in advance of making sandwiches.

Sandwich assembly….

Spread mayo/pepper mixture on bottom part of kaiser roll, layer all three meats on to roll with one slice of provolone cheese. Place all rolls on baking sheet and place under broiler. Do multiple sandwiches at once. When cheese is melted add red onions and lettuce mixture on top. Spread top part of kaiser roll with mayo/pepper mixture. ENJOY!!!!

Remember….Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day????

