CWTP Logo PNG

Watching the Brickyard 400, I can’t digest how the drivers get so close to the wall going 100 plus miles per hour. Talk about cringing as they come off of the straightaway. Even though I have a stellar record on the WII playing Mario Cart which is simply impressive, I just don’t know how they do it.  I mean Brooke can’t even compete with her mother. But If I must be reflective in my delusion that I can drive with the big dogs, I will openly admit I might have a problem attending to the task going those speeds after the first 100 miles. Also, I’m not up on driver suit technology, but the whole restroom thing would be a slight debacle for me. With that being said, these drivers have some impressive stamina.  Today’s winner Ryan Newman was so gracious. He earned the pole position and won the race. Unbelievable….he was very humble and grateful to his sponsors, team, owner, and family. What makes this even more amazing, Ryan was released from his team a while back and will be a free agent at the end of this racing season. Nice statement he made. So watching the whole family and team kiss the bricks, was pretty cool. However, I did cringe again as it seems like it might be rather hot on the lips. Speaking from experience. Everyone should be careful when handling pizza right out of the oven. Just a safety note. But I highly doubt Ryan Newman, family, and crew could feel that burn because adrenalin took over. Wonderful day for this guy getting the checker flag!!!

Eggplant and Zucchini Fries…

Yesterday….when the girls and I finally returned home from our travels, we hit the farmer’s market. Of course I picked up some of my favorite summer veggies, eggplant, zucchini, and summer squash. I love me some green beans and sweet corn too..we have a week or so for the “good” corn as my mother would say. 

fried zucchini and eggpplant 002

Ingredients 

– I large zucchini slice into equal strips (like fries)

– 1 small-medium eggplant sliced into equal strips (like fries)

– 3 cups all-purpose flour

–  3 cups panko breadcrumbs

– 3-4 eggs whisked

– salt and pepper

– vegetable oil

– ziplock bags

– marinara sauce

Directions

1. Set up dredging station, a ziplock bag with flour seasoned with salt and pepper (taste the flour), a shallow dish with the eggs, and another ziplock with the panko.

2. Move zucchini and eggplant fries through dredging station. Flour, eggs, and then panko. Let rest for a few minutes.

3. In large skillet heat oil over medium heat (350 degrees),  fry vegetables until golden brown. Drain on paper towels and season with salt and pepper immediately. Serve with marinara sauce.

Remember….Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day???

