CWTP Logo PNG

Last week I had the opportunity to spend time with two exchange students from China, Wang Xingting and Cheng Qi. Wang and Cheng are simply lovely gracious young women, who truly enjoyed their experience here. While chatting, I learned these girls love sports and sporting events. My kind of people. For my new friends, I whipped up some yummy coconut shrimp, sauteed garlic shrimp, and fried won tons with a homemade duck sauce. I  am pleased to report the girls loved my treats!  check out our quick interview. So much fun!!!

Paige with our guests!!!!

Chinese exchange students

 Coconut shrimp On A Fried Won Ton (my deconstructed egg roll) 

deconstructed egg roll 005

Ingredients

Shrimp and Wontons

– A package of wonton wrappers

– canola oil

– 2 lbs peeled and deveined shrimp tail removed

– 3 cups flour

– 3 cups panko breadcrumbs

– 3/4 cup coconut (I use sweetened)

– 4 whisked eggs

-salt

Duck Sauce

– 1 cup orange marmalade

– 2 tbsp red wine vinegar

– red pepper flakes

Directions

1. In a small sauce pan, mix orange marmalade, red wine vinegar, and red pepper flakes to your liking. Bring to a boil and then simmer over a low heat.

2. In large skillet, heat oil over medium heat (350 degrees). Fry wontons until golden brown. They fry very quickly. Drain on a paper towel lined plate and season with salt immediately.

3. After frying wontons, set up dredging station. In a large ziplock bag add the flour, in a shallow dish whisk eggs, and in another ziplock bag mix panko and coconut.  Dredge shrimp, flour, egg, and then the panko/coconut mixture.

4. Allow the shrimp to rest for a minute or two on a baking sheet and then fry. Fry in the same oil, until golden brown. About 3 to 4 minutes. Drain on a paper towel lined plate. Season with salt.

5. We dipped our shrimp and the wontons in the duck sauce. I served them separately the night the girls came to the house.

Remember…..Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day??

