CWTP Logo PNG

Fall back…oh the beauty of an extra hour of sleep. It’s a little nugget that keeps me going for a minute. This morsel of time will allow me to stay up for an entire Monday Night Football game. Probably two weeks worth. Fall back also means it’s time to get comfy. So let’s get comfy with some comfort food.

Jen’s Chili

There are so many versions, interpretations, arguments/controversy over what “real” chili is…what’s included and what’s not. I don’t engage in the debate… I like mine. It’s what  I grew up with and I enjoy it. True comfort food for me, but most importantly my babies love it.  Therefore it is a winner. 

soups and small apple pies with chocolate 009

Ingredients

1 1/2 lbs ground beef

1 chopped onion

1 chopped green pepper

1 chopped jalapeno

2 cloves chopped garlic

2 tbsp seasoning salt (like a Lawyers)

1 tbsp chili powder

2- 28 oz cans of tomato sauce

4 small cans of light kidney beans

6 cups of prepared white rice

sour cream

shredded cheddar cheese

pickled jalapenos

Directions

1.  In a large pot, one you would use to make pasta, saute onion, green peppers, jalapenos, and garlic in olive oil.

2. Add in beef, and brown.

3. After beef is browned, add in tomato sauce, seasoning salt, chili powder, kidney beans, and seasoning salt. Bring to a boil and allow to simmer over medium low heat for 30 minutes to an hour. For me, the longer the better.

Serving dish…..

1. A healthy spoonful of rice, top with chili, and all of the toppings to your flavor. I also use hot sauce on mine as well. I also serve with corn bread, home fried corn tortillas or fried pizza dough bites. Yummy…..

Chicken Tortilla Soup…

soups and small apple pies with chocolate 050

Apple Pie Bites with Chocolate and Pecans …. Yes..take it all in 

soups and small apple pies with chocolate 041

Stay calm…a caramel apple bar….inhale and exhale 

Pecans..Rainbow Sprinkles…Oreos!!! Yes Heaven on a stick 🙂 and slightly healthy 

carmel apples 003

Hold your horses my friends. I will make sure you get all of these recipes throughout the week.  Fabulous.  

Remember..Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day??

