CWTP Logo PNG

There aren’t too many Saturdays I’m home for the entire day, but yesterday was one of them. With an early start to my day at the gym and then of course  a major shop at my Giant grocery store, I headed home to work on the recipes for next weeks show.  Being home for an entire Saturday also meant I was able to see a slew of college football games. Translation;  my television remote earns it’s keep in my home. Lots of channel changes. This actually creates tension between myself and my daughters.  It’s important to hold my  ground in this situation,  so I subtly remind my girls we have multiple televisions in our home.  When no one moves, eye rolling continues, and conversation is held over the broadcast;  I digress to guilt and remind them of the countless hours of the Disney channel I have been forced to endure. Mama is watching football. So as I channel surfed throughout the day, I landed on Alabama and LSU. What a game and two amazing programs. Truth be told however; the real reason I stopped to watch this game… I love Nick Saban.  When did my love affair begin with Nick begin you might ask? Well after Nick’s cameo in “The Blindside”, I decided I was a fan. Even though I am a very knowledgeable sports enthusiast,  my fondness of Mr. Saban is merely based on his charisma. Him being a great coach just makes the whole picture better for me.  A friend was over for dinner and to watch the game.  We decided I should start my campaign to get Nick on my show. Of course, I would love to have Bill O’Brien first 🙂  So Nick look for my phone calls. I can wait until the bowl games are over. Not sure what Nick and I will cook together, but for next Saturday’s taping I’ll be making Cream of Crab Soup and French Dip Sandwiches….Surf and Turf 🙂 and a delicious Pumpkin Funnel Cake with a Cream Cheese Sauce..

Cream of Crab Soup

French Dip Sand and Cream of Crab Soup 034

Ingredients

1 lb lump crab meat (remove cartilage)

 4 cups of heavy cream

1 cups of whole milk

1/2 tsp ground mustard

1 tsp dried parsley

2-3 dashes of Worcester Sauce

3 tbsp butter

3 tbsp flour

2 1/2 tbsp old bay seasoning

Directions

1. In large dutch oven, melt butter and add flour to make a rue. Whisk until blond over medium low heat.

2. Add mustard, parsley, and old bay. Keep whisking add Worcester sauce then heavy cream and milk. Bring to a boil.

3. Once it comes to a boil, add crab meat and allow to simmer for 20-25 minutes of a medium low heat.

4. Top with an additional lump of crab meat, fresh parsley, and a sprinkle of old bay. I love this soup served piping hot!!!

French Dip Sandwiches

Yummy…..Yesterday I did a ten minute drive by delivery drop off with these sandwiches to some friends hosting a yard sale. With a drum roll, I’m pleased to announce I received rave reviews. My friend said they were “ridiculous” … So I suggest you give them a try.

French Dip Sand and Cream of Crab Soup 002

Ingredients

-3 lbs deli roast beef thinly sliced

– 3/4 lbs provolone cheese thinly sliced

– salt and pepper

– 2 cans of beef consomme or beef broth

– 3 cloves of minced garlic

– 2 tbsp butter

– 2 tbsp of flour

– 6 crusty Italian rolls

Directions

1. In medium sauce pot, melt butter and add flour to make a rue. Whisk flour until the rue is past blond and golden brown. Add consomme and garlic. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to simmer au jus sauce  for 10 minutes.

2. While sauce is simmering, separate the roast beef into 6 “piles” and season each with salt and pepper. Cut Italian rolls.

3. After simmering au jus sauce, with tongs, dip each individual pile of roast beef into the sauce and then place on roll. Top each roll with provolone cheese.

4.  Place all six rolls on a baking sheet and place under the broiler until cheese melts and is nice and gooey….love it. Reserve remaining au jus sauce for dipping…

Here’s the deal my friends…..this sandwich travels well. Wrap these babies up in some foil and take them to your tailgate. Don’t forget your dipping au jus sauce.

This was not on yesterday’s menu, but we will be making this great fall treat next weekend 🙂 

Pumpkin Funnel Cake with Cream Cheese Dip

Funnel Cake 2 003

 

Ingredients

  • 1 quart oil for frying
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 1 cup milk
  • 3/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar mixed + 1 tsp cinnamon for dusting 

Instructions

  1. Place the oil in a large pot over medium heat.
  2. Meanwhile, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, egg, brown sugar, pumpkin puree (or 100% pure pumpkin), milk, and pumpkin pie spice until a smooth batter forms.
  3. Mix together the powdered sugar and cinnamon. Set aside.
  4. Check oil– if you have a thermometer, it should be around 375º. If you don’t have a thermometer, flick a couple of water droplets in the oil. It should bubble, but not pop out of the pan.
  5. Scoop about 1/2 cup (it should be a little less than 1/2 cup, since a lot of it will stick to the measuring cup) into a gallon sized ziptop bag.
  6. Snip off a small corner of the bag and pipe the batter into the hot oil in a circular pattern. Let fry for a few seconds, until golden brown on the bottom, and then turn over (using a fork or tongs). Let fry for a few more seconds until golden brown.
  7. Remove the funnel cake with a fork or tongs and place on a plate lined with paper towels. Dust with the cinnamon powdered sugar and enjoy warm!
  8. Repeat process with remaining batter (I was able to use the same bag for all of the batter by simply placing the bag in a shallow bowl. When I spooned the batter into the bag opening, it didn’t ooze out of the hole, because the bag is sort of laying on itself. Just carefully pick it up, pinching the corner with the hole until you’re ready to pipe it into the oil.)

Cream Cheese Dip

Ingredients

4 oz softened cream cheese

2 cups confectioner sugar

1/2  cup of milk

1 tsp Vanilla

Directions

1. Put all ingredients in large bowl and mix. Start on low speed to not “cover” yourself with the confectioner sugar. Blend until smooth.

 

Remember….Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day..

