logo

It’s no secret that I’m a Steeler fan. The Heasley’s hale from the Pittsburgh area where many family members worked in the steel mills.  Black and gold was ingrained from the very beginning. Six Super Bowl rings,  our terrible towel, Heinz Field, Primanti Brothers Sandwiches, and the steel curtain; love it all. But there is another side to Jen Heasley . It’s almost like a deep, dark, dirty secret to my family members. In an effort to come clean with my fans I will admit… I’m fond of the Baltimore Ravens. Ahhh… it feels good to come clean.  Here’s the deal. Baltimore was without a team for so many years after their beloved Colts left town in the dark of night. Seeing the Mayflower trucks on the nightly news is a  very vivid memory from my childhood. Devastation swept over the city. Even though the CFL had a brief stint in Baltimore it wasn’t the same. In 1996,  I just so happened to be living in Baltimore when the Ravens brought a new life to the city. The energy was intoxicating and the town was given a new sense of hope. Any sports fan with a heart and a love of the game,  has to understand for fondness for this team. My brothers don’t buy that line, but that’s how I feel.   Sports teams create a community within a community.  That is what I saw in Baltimore while living there and why I support what the organization brought to Charm City.

While taping this season of my show, I found another reason to be fond of the Baltimore Ravens. #54  Adrian Hamilton linebacker for the Ravens became my star guest. On several occasions he did my show and public appearances. Because Adrian was on injured reserve, his schedule was different than his teammates. Allowing him to have a little more flexibility in his schedule. Adrian came to the show a few times, visited my school (which he will never let me forget), did a live cooking demonstration with me at Giant Grocery Store, he’s signed up for the CBS March Madness brackets as a favor,  and I’ve already booked him for some up coming appearances in the Spring. See why I’m a fan. Adrian has a great sense of humor and is genuinely a really nice guy.  For this weeks show Adrian and I were joined  by, Mike Devoe of the Haloti Ngata  Family Foundation, and Paul Mittermeier of the Ed Block Awards. Our brunch menu was delicious. Fried chicken and fried catfish on hoe cakes with Habanero honey, Chipotle hash browns, scrambled eggs with sausage, my “famous” fruit dip with fruit skewers and Orange Crush was our drink.

2589

On set with Adrian….

2975

Adrian with my students…

3005

Adrian putting a smile on the face of a McKinley Elementary student 🙂

IMG_0193

Adrian with a young fan at the Giant cooking demonstration…….

Jessie Gaines 002

Adrian with Jessie Gaines and myself…..see what I’m saying. He’s been a loyal Jen Heasley’s Cooking With The Pros follower 🙂

I have more photos of Adrian at this point than Paige or Brooke

2688

Ohhhhh….a non Adrian picture Jeff Adams and Mike Devoe of the Haloti Ngata Family Foundation were on set that day…

2705

And my friend Paul Mittermiere of the Ed Block Courage Awards stopped by for this show too…..

Thank goodness I cooked a ton of great food 🙂

2594

Fried Catfish

2622

Hoe Cakes….

2597

Habanero Honey…..all three together delicious 🙂

2624

Chipotle Cheesy Hash Browns

2708

Scrambled Eggs with Spicy Sausage

2668

Fruit Skewers with my “famous” fruit dip…..

Fruit Dip and Skewers…..

Fruit Dip

Ingredients

– 1 8oz block of softened cream cheese

– 2-3 cups of confectioners sugar

– 2 tsp of vanilla extract

– 1/3-1/2 cup of milk

Directions

1. In a large bowl, mix all ingredients together….Yup it’s that simple

Fruit Skewers

– strawberries

– pineapple

– bananas

– grapes

-blackberries

Basically the fruits you love best. This dip makes everything better

Remember….Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day!!

Check out our the show!!!

