logoMy beloved football is back. Professional, college, even arena football is splashed all over television and sports pages. I absolutely love it!!  With the start of football I’m also excited about the series “Hard Knocks” which will soon air on HBO.  I am hook, line, and sinker. For those who don’t know,  Hard Knocks is a kind of documentary I’ll say,  where one  NFL team is followed by cameras and microphones throughout the summer and training camp. It’s a means of taking the fans inside the workings of the business of football. Typically, the marquis players are featured and followed incessantly. It’s intended to show the good, the bad, and possibly the ugly. There have been a few busts over the years.  Dolphins and Ocho Cinco just a few years back. Enough said.  For “Hard Knocks”  2014, the Atlanta Falcons will be the team.  I’ve attached the “trailer” for this years series. Check out what I love the most. No this isn’t my number one team, but I love football and gets my juices flowing….

http://www.thefalcoholic.com/2014/7/6/5875023/falcons-hard-knocks-trailer-released

See why I love this stuff…..I’m hoping next year they’ll select me for “Hard Knocks” and Cooking With The Pros 🙂

Today’s recipe is for my daughter and any friend at a tailgate or party that is a vegetarian. Paige is not a vegetarian, she just likes Portobello burgers.

Portobello Burger…..

DSC_1076

Please don’t be afraid to try this sandwich…Delicious

Ingredients

– 2 Portobello mushrooms (large ones)

– 2 tbsp olive oil

– 1 1/2 tsp red wine vinegar

– 1/2 tsp garlic salt

– 1 tsp dry Italian seasoning

– black pepper

– Kaiser rolls

– mayonnaise

– hot cherry pepper spread

– lettuce, tomato, red onion

Directions

1. Remove stem from mushrooms and clean with a damp paper towel.

2 In small bowl, mix together olive oil, red wine vinegar, garlic salt, Italians seasoning, and some pepper.

3. With pastry brush, coat the mushrooms with olive oil mixture.

4. In cast iron skillet or grill on medium heat that has been oiled, place mushrooms and grill about 3-4 minutes per-side.

5. While grilling, mix about 1/2 cup  of mayonnaise and 1 tbsp. of the hot cherry pepper spread.

6. Once mushrooms are grilled, spread mayonnaise mixture on Kaiser roll, top with mushroom, and add other condiments.

Remember…..Who Do You Want In Your Kitchen On Game Day???

